Cheesy Chicken Pot Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
We liked this pot pie, thank you for the recipe. Made a couple of revisions based upon personal preference: for the veggies I only used one bag of frozen Steamfresh mix of broccoli, cauliflower, carrots, instead of the listed vegetables as we're not keen on peas & celery. Also added one can of cream of chicken soup to make it thicker & creamier, as the mixture seemed too runny even after cooking it with the cornstarch as directed. Served it with a bed of wild rice and a side of green beans with French's fried onions, good side dishes alongside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
Very good , I did add a small onion and garlic powder. Prebaked the bottom crust and that worked out well. Also did bake in a 375 degree oven. Forgot to add the cheese, but still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
I used this recipe as a start because I wanted to add cheese to a chicken pie, but it seemed to be lacking a lot of veggies, and other ingredients that add flavor. So, I did cook the bottom shell @ 375 as recommended by others. I also added frozen corn, about 1/4 cup of finely diced onions, 1 red potato finely diced (so they wouldn't be hard) and salt and pepper to the filling mixture, and just added the cheese into the hot mixture (after the milk/cornstarch). I brushed the top w/an egg wash and baked at 375 for 25 minutes. It turned out really good! Wasn't at all runny, and my mother, who's a bit picky and doesn't particularly like chicken pot pie, had two pieces! Woohoo!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Very tasty. I used frozen mixed vegetables, it worked well. Better day#2 because it thickened a little more. Will make again. May try making my own pie crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
Very easy and my family loves it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2013
This pot pie was easy and turned out good. To suit our tastes, I replaced the celery with corn kernels. The meat I used was the leg and thigh meat of a rotisserie chicken. I did find the filling to be kind of bland so I added some salt, pepper, and garlic powder to liven it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkstevens09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ortonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
I had left over turkey and put this together quickly using frozen veggies and a few potatoes, which I sauteed with some onion and minced garlic before combining with the sauce. Mine turned out a bit on the dry side which probably was my error in making the sauce more like gravy. Next time I will try for a thinner sauce. The flavor was delicious and everyone enjoyed the cheesy turkey pot pie. I will be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mema

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Glens Falls, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
This did not turn out great, the filling was watery and cooking it at 325 is too low. I would not make again and I did follow the recipe, exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Love this recipe! It's a go-to recipe for after Thanksgiving turkey leftovers. I add onions and use up leftover veggies from the veggie tray. Sometimes bake in a dish with biscuit dough on top instead of making pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
Perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Pot Pie IX

See how to make a delicious one-pot meal.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Chicken Pot Pie I

This chicken pot pie tastes like you did a ton of work--but it's easy as pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States