Cheesy Chicken Poblano Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
OMGosh! This is so tasty. A definite keeper and we'll make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chisholm, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
This soup has a good flavor but it is pretty mild.I will leave some pepper seeds in next time to add just a little spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
Really good! We pre-cooked the chicken by boiling it in water with a chicken bullion cube.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by violetaria

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pompano Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
So yummy! Was trying to find recipes to use up some of the poblano peppers from the deck garden and this one caught my attention. A couple of tweaks...used grilled chicken thighs rubbed with the taco seasoning (recipe from this site. Really enhanced the spice flavor. Cut off 4 ears of corn on the cob (cooked) instead of canned. Used 2% cheese, but may not do next time..taste is great, but didn't seem to melt right. Overall, this recipe is awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Powell, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
This was positively delicious. I used grilled boneless thighs and some over ripe pablanos as well to give it a little extra flavor. My guests loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
Very tasty and super quick! Added some jalapenos to spice it up and fresh garlic. Family loved it. I will definitely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
As others mentioned this is a great recipe to get started. I fired up the gas grill and roasted the poblanos & two ears of corn while I grilled the chicken breasts. I omitted the beans since I didn't have any on hand. The fire roasted corn flavor really added to this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FMULICH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Uniontown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
This is fantastic soup. Every pepper will vary on how hot it is (even coming from the same plant...I used the poblano's from my garden and they were very different) so you will need to taste them before adding. I added 3, but next time will add more, depending on how how hot they are. An easier way to get the skin off the peppers is to blacken them by putting them directly in a flame on a gas oven or a grill, then follow the directions by putting them in a plastic bag. Much easier and less chance of burning them (which I have done). Just use a long BBQ type of utensil so you don't burn yourself. I otherwise made exactly as is except left out the chicken...no need for it in my opinion with the beans and cheese. Next time, I will add an extra can of beans and maybe another pepper or two. Thanks so much for the recipe!!!! Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bsuever

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
I made this for a get together with the intention of just leaving on simmer all day for people to graze on. My plan didn't work out very well however when everyone devoured the chowder. It was a delicious recipe and went great with the black bean burritos I had prepared. This is an excellent soup for a football sunday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Freeport, Ohio, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Really good. I did make changes. I put in a whole chopped onion and some garlic in the oil along with two chopped slices of bacon then added the roasted peppers (only 2.) Then added the flour, chicken broth and grilled pork loin cut into bite-size pieces. I actually used shredded cheese but I think that processed cheese might work better and then top with shredded cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROBINBRADY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Meridian, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Tequila Lime Chicken

See a tasty homemade take on a famous tequila-lime chicken dish.

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

How to Make Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make authentic chicken enchiladas in a flavorful sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States