Cheesy Chicken Poblano Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
This is a 3-star recipe if strictly adhered to, 4-star if considered as a base recipe, and 5-star if tweaked to perfection, or at least to personal preference. As written the recipe is short in that there is no real medley of flavors, relying heavily on a hefty amount of cumin and garlic powder--therefore, three stars. But it's a good start. So... I sauteed a couple of strips of bacon until crisp, removed the bacon from the pan and added the chopped poblanos which I didn't bother to blacken, half of a good sized onion, chopped, one minced jalapeno pepper, a few cloves of minced garlic (didn't use the garlic powder) and a chopped carrot (no corn for hubs). Once the vegetables were tender I added the flour, a little butter, a couple glugs of half and half for creaminess, the chicken broth and only 1-1/2 teaspooons of cumin. Let it come to a boil, then reduced heat and added the chopped chicken, the black beans, and some leftover rice (Zippy Rice Pilaf from this site to be precise). For those having trouble with the cheese clumping, it's important that you remove the pan from the heat before adding the cheese and let it melt in slowly. I seasoned to taste with salt and pepper and garnished each serving with tortilla chips, the crumbled bacon and chopped green onion. I served this as the submitter suggested, with Basic Corn Muffins, also from this site. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
I had a small bowl of this, while my hubby and I mean this when I say that, he went back 3 times.....That is right. My dad called and said he had the best Cheesy Chicken Poblano Chowder in Donna, Texas..Could I find a recipe for one. Well I found this one and man let me tell you, It was soo easy to do. The only difficult part was peeling the chard skin off the peppers, and that wasn't that hard at all. The flavors at 1st, when making them, was--hmmm,okay where's it at, an the moment I put in the spices--MAN ALIVE!! The Cumin is spot on and I wouldn't change a thing. Well maybe add more Pepper Jack Cheese like a 1/2 cup more. Other then that, not a thing....Lovely Lovely!!! My mom will be making this for my dad....I'm bowing at the presence of greatness in this recipe. Yummy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
This is fantastic soup. Every pepper will vary on how hot it is (even coming from the same plant...I used the poblano's from my garden and they were very different) so you will need to taste them before adding. I added 3, but next time will add more, depending on how how hot they are. An easier way to get the skin off the peppers is to blacken them by putting them directly in a flame on a gas oven or a grill, then follow the directions by putting them in a plastic bag. Much easier and less chance of burning them (which I have done). Just use a long BBQ type of utensil so you don't burn yourself. I otherwise made exactly as is except left out the chicken...no need for it in my opinion with the beans and cheese. Next time, I will add an extra can of beans and maybe another pepper or two. Thanks so much for the recipe!!!! Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bsuever

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Really good. I did make changes. I put in a whole chopped onion and some garlic in the oil along with two chopped slices of bacon then added the roasted peppers (only 2.) Then added the flour, chicken broth and grilled pork loin cut into bite-size pieces. I actually used shredded cheese but I think that processed cheese might work better and then top with shredded cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROBINBRADY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Meridian, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
I made this for a get together with the intention of just leaving on simmer all day for people to graze on. My plan didn't work out very well however when everyone devoured the chowder. It was a delicious recipe and went great with the black bean burritos I had prepared. This is an excellent soup for a football sunday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Freeport, Ohio, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
Excellenct soup - I would recommend using more poblanos for a spicier soup - also took a reviewers advice & added some taco seasoning - very good topped with tortilla chips & a little sour cream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bullfrog270

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
As others mentioned this is a great recipe to get started. I fired up the gas grill and roasted the poblanos & two ears of corn while I grilled the chicken breasts. I omitted the beans since I didn't have any on hand. The fire roasted corn flavor really added to this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FMULICH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Uniontown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
So yummy! Was trying to find recipes to use up some of the poblano peppers from the deck garden and this one caught my attention. A couple of tweaks...used grilled chicken thighs rubbed with the taco seasoning (recipe from this site. Really enhanced the spice flavor. Cut off 4 ears of corn on the cob (cooked) instead of canned. Used 2% cheese, but may not do next time..taste is great, but didn't seem to melt right. Overall, this recipe is awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Powell, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
I wanted to make half of this recipe and knew ahead of time I’d be freezing some of it, so I went about this a little differently. I made the soup, adding some carrot for color and taco seasoning, less cumin and fresh, minced garlic for a little more flavor. I did not make the roux or add the cheese. I just simmered the other ingredients to meld their flavors for about 10 minutes. Then I allowed it to cool, packaged half for the freezer, and refrigerated the other half. When reheating, I made a roux of 1 T. flour and 1 T. butter, tempered it by whisking in a ladle of hot soup and then added it back to the simmering soup. I tasted it at that point and decided I liked it without the cheese, so I didn’t add it, but I may the next time, just to compare. This is a hearty and filling soup, and great for a cold, winter night’s dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
When my husband sat down to dinner, he said, "I don't know, I'll try anything once." That tune quickly changed to "this is really good, we have a keeper." I stayed pretty true to the recipes. For the chicken, I diced up 2 large breasts & sprinkled them with taco seasoning in a sautee pan. When I melted the butter, I threw in a few minced garlic cloves. Instead of mixing the cheese into the soup, I just put some on top when I served the soup. For the tortilla strips, I slice up a couple of shoft taco shells, put a little olive oil on them & baked them in the oven until they were crisp. Really, really tasty soup, lots of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Tequila Lime Chicken

See a tasty homemade take on a famous tequila-lime chicken dish.

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

How to Make Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make authentic chicken enchiladas in a flavorful sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States