Cheesy Chicken Poblano Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
Very desappointed with this recipe Except adding some sauteed onions and garlic, I pretty much followed the recipe. The cheese stucked to the bottom and sides of the pan and made lumps in the middle, the soup was too thin ( probably because of the unmelted cheese) and did not have much flavor. I will just add some chicken and roasted poblanos to my old corn chowder next time and see what happens
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
Great Flavor but needs some tweaking in my opinion. Maybe less chicken broth, and adding the cheese first before the other ingredients. Definitely has potential and the spices are perfect. Will definitely try again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CleFoodGoddess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Defiance, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
This is a 3-star recipe if strictly adhered to, 4-star if considered as a base recipe, and 5-star if tweaked to perfection, or at least to personal preference. As written the recipe is short in that there is no real medley of flavors, relying heavily on a hefty amount of cumin and garlic powder--therefore, three stars. But it's a good start. So... I sauteed a couple of strips of bacon until crisp, removed the bacon from the pan and added the chopped poblanos which I didn't bother to blacken, half of a good sized onion, chopped, one minced jalapeno pepper, a few cloves of minced garlic (didn't use the garlic powder) and a chopped carrot (no corn for hubs). Once the vegetables were tender I added the flour, a little butter, a couple glugs of half and half for creaminess, the chicken broth and only 1-1/2 teaspooons of cumin. Let it come to a boil, then reduced heat and added the chopped chicken, the black beans, and some leftover rice (Zippy Rice Pilaf from this site to be precise). For those having trouble with the cheese clumping, it's important that you remove the pan from the heat before adding the cheese and let it melt in slowly. I seasoned to taste with salt and pepper and garnished each serving with tortilla chips, the crumbled bacon and chopped green onion. I served this as the submitter suggested, with Basic Corn Muffins, also from this site. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
So yummy! Was trying to find recipes to use up some of the poblano peppers from the deck garden and this one caught my attention. A couple of tweaks...used grilled chicken thighs rubbed with the taco seasoning (recipe from this site. Really enhanced the spice flavor. Cut off 4 ears of corn on the cob (cooked) instead of canned. Used 2% cheese, but may not do next time..taste is great, but didn't seem to melt right. Overall, this recipe is awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Powell, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
Really good! We pre-cooked the chicken by boiling it in water with a chicken bullion cube.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by violetaria

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pompano Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
This soup has a good flavor but it is pretty mild.I will leave some pepper seeds in next time to add just a little spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
This a good simple recipe. I followed the recipe even though I was tempted to add some sauteed onions. The recipe is fine without them. The flavor is great. My only problem was that the cheese just clumped and did not melt smoothly. I think next time I will increase the peppers to 4 or 5 and then just sprinkle cheese on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iceemama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
I had a small bowl of this, while my hubby and I mean this when I say that, he went back 3 times.....That is right. My dad called and said he had the best Cheesy Chicken Poblano Chowder in Donna, Texas..Could I find a recipe for one. Well I found this one and man let me tell you, It was soo easy to do. The only difficult part was peeling the chard skin off the peppers, and that wasn't that hard at all. The flavors at 1st, when making them, was--hmmm,okay where's it at, an the moment I put in the spices--MAN ALIVE!! The Cumin is spot on and I wouldn't change a thing. Well maybe add more Pepper Jack Cheese like a 1/2 cup more. Other then that, not a thing....Lovely Lovely!!! My mom will be making this for my dad....I'm bowing at the presence of greatness in this recipe. Yummy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 21-28 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Tequila Lime Chicken

See a tasty homemade take on a famous tequila-lime chicken dish.

Lemon Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic chicken dish with a tart lemon-butter sauce.

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States