Cheesy Chicken Poblano Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
I had a hard time getting it to thicken up after I added the chicken broth so I ended up adding another 1/4 c of flour later on. Very delicious, my first time cooking with poblanos and I realized they aren't spicy at all, my children will eat this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krystal Loverin
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Really good. I did make changes. I put in a whole chopped onion and some garlic in the oil along with two chopped slices of bacon then added the roasted peppers (only 2.) Then added the flour, chicken broth and grilled pork loin cut into bite-size pieces. I actually used shredded cheese but I think that processed cheese might work better and then top with shredded cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROBINBRADY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Meridian, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
We really enjoyed this - it needed some tweaking but was delicious in the end. First of all I recommend roasting the poblanos on the grill/open flame. I sauteed a diced onion and several cloves of fresh minced garlic in the butter before adding the flour. I used regular canned corn (no peppers) and would like to try it with fresh or even frozen in the future. Be sure to drain and rinse the beans before adding. I also used cheddar and mozzarella cheese because it's what I had on hand. And actually the particular poblanos I had this time were WAY spicier than I've ever had before so I was glad I didn't use pepper jack! It could use more cheese and I added about 1/2 c 1/2&1/2 too to make it creamier. Ours was so spicy because of the poblanos I had that we topped with sour cream too to take the edge off. Good thing we like it hot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by junglepilotwife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chandler, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
I made this for a get together with the intention of just leaving on simmer all day for people to graze on. My plan didn't work out very well however when everyone devoured the chowder. It was a delicious recipe and went great with the black bean burritos I had prepared. This is an excellent soup for a football sunday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keith DeVault

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Freeport, Ohio, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
This is fantastic soup. Every pepper will vary on how hot it is (even coming from the same plant...I used the poblano's from my garden and they were very different) so you will need to taste them before adding. I added 3, but next time will add more, depending on how how hot they are. An easier way to get the skin off the peppers is to blacken them by putting them directly in a flame on a gas oven or a grill, then follow the directions by putting them in a plastic bag. Much easier and less chance of burning them (which I have done). Just use a long BBQ type of utensil so you don't burn yourself. I otherwise made exactly as is except left out the chicken...no need for it in my opinion with the beans and cheese. Next time, I will add an extra can of beans and maybe another pepper or two. Thanks so much for the recipe!!!! Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bsuever

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
As others mentioned this is a great recipe to get started. I fired up the gas grill and roasted the poblanos & two ears of corn while I grilled the chicken breasts. I omitted the beans since I didn't have any on hand. The fire roasted corn flavor really added to this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FMULICH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Uniontown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
OMGosh! This is so tasty. A definite keeper and we'll make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy Bennett Wesley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chisholm, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
Very tasty and super quick! Added some jalapenos to spice it up and fresh garlic. Family loved it. I will definitely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
This was positively delicious. I used grilled boneless thighs and some over ripe pablanos as well to give it a little extra flavor. My guests loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
I have made this as written but have since tweaked the recipe to suit me. Instead of using whole corn I like to use creamed corn. If the soup is too thin you can add refried bean, a few tablespoons at a time, until desired consistency. If I'm feeling lazy I just put everything in the crock pot in the morning and it's ready for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heart2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: Wooster, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Tequila Lime Chicken

See a tasty homemade take on a famous tequila-lime chicken dish.

Lemon Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic chicken dish with a tart lemon-butter sauce.

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States