Cheesy Chicken Poblano Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
This recipe was great! The only thing I would change next time is to omit the cheese from the pot and just sprinkle it on afterwords. It didn't melt well in the chowder. Otherwise, a great base recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2015
This soup is AWESOME! I made exactly has listed except I did saute a chopped onion and some garlic in the butter. I didn't really measure the cheese, so might have had a little more than called for. I thought there must have been a typo when the recipe calls for 2 tablespoons of cumen, but it was right on. Gave everything a delicious flavor. I took this to a churck potluck and boy was it a hit! Thank you loriac1969 for posting such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
Yummy! I ate it with chips. I couldn't find the corn like it calls for so I threw in a can of green chiles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
Pretty tasty! I had problems with the cheese... But I should have read ths reviews first for tips on that...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Really good! I used 4 poblanos, I added chopped onion, cayenne pepper and used 8 oz of velveeta cheese and 1 cup of sharp cheddar. Made it very creamy and yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
As a soup-junkie, I thought this was delicious! Next time I will nix the roux and use mashed potatoes to thicken instead. I also will not bother to blacken the peppers, too time-comsuming. Very mild spice for the spice-conscious, as written. I altered the recipe by using an onion and minced garlic, roasting the corn in a pan will taco seasoning and pureeing part of the soup to thicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
I wanted to make half of this recipe and knew ahead of time I’d be freezing some of it, so I went about this a little differently. I made the soup, adding some carrot for color and taco seasoning, less cumin and fresh, minced garlic for a little more flavor. I did not make the roux or add the cheese. I just simmered the other ingredients to meld their flavors for about 10 minutes. Then I allowed it to cool, packaged half for the freezer, and refrigerated the other half. When reheating, I made a roux of 1 T. flour and 1 T. butter, tempered it by whisking in a ladle of hot soup and then added it back to the simmering soup. I tasted it at that point and decided I liked it without the cheese, so I didn’t add it, but I may the next time, just to compare. This is a hearty and filling soup, and great for a cold, winter night’s dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
When my husband sat down to dinner, he said, "I don't know, I'll try anything once." That tune quickly changed to "this is really good, we have a keeper." I stayed pretty true to the recipes. For the chicken, I diced up 2 large breasts & sprinkled them with taco seasoning in a sautee pan. When I melted the butter, I threw in a few minced garlic cloves. Instead of mixing the cheese into the soup, I just put some on top when I served the soup. For the tortilla strips, I slice up a couple of shoft taco shells, put a little olive oil on them & baked them in the oven until they were crisp. Really, really tasty soup, lots of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
I didn't have much time to prepare, so I stuck with the main ingredients (minus thickening it with flour), threw it all in the slow cooker and let it cook for 8 hours. The chicken was shredded and the flavor was amazing. I added a little dollop of sour cream and shredded tortilla strips at the end. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jilliene

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
Everyone loved the soup. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Tequila Lime Chicken

See a tasty homemade take on a famous tequila-lime chicken dish.

Lemon Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic chicken dish with a tart lemon-butter sauce.

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States