Cheesy Chicken Poblano Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
Pretty tasty! I had problems with the cheese... But I should have read ths reviews first for tips on that...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Really good! I used 4 poblanos, I added chopped onion, cayenne pepper and used 8 oz of velveeta cheese and 1 cup of sharp cheddar. Made it very creamy and yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
As a soup-junkie, I thought this was delicious! Next time I will nix the roux and use mashed potatoes to thicken instead. I also will not bother to blacken the peppers, too time-comsuming. Very mild spice for the spice-conscious, as written. I altered the recipe by using an onion and minced garlic, roasting the corn in a pan will taco seasoning and pureeing part of the soup to thicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
I wanted to make half of this recipe and knew ahead of time I’d be freezing some of it, so I went about this a little differently. I made the soup, adding some carrot for color and taco seasoning, less cumin and fresh, minced garlic for a little more flavor. I did not make the roux or add the cheese. I just simmered the other ingredients to meld their flavors for about 10 minutes. Then I allowed it to cool, packaged half for the freezer, and refrigerated the other half. When reheating, I made a roux of 1 T. flour and 1 T. butter, tempered it by whisking in a ladle of hot soup and then added it back to the simmering soup. I tasted it at that point and decided I liked it without the cheese, so I didn’t add it, but I may the next time, just to compare. This is a hearty and filling soup, and great for a cold, winter night’s dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
When my husband sat down to dinner, he said, "I don't know, I'll try anything once." That tune quickly changed to "this is really good, we have a keeper." I stayed pretty true to the recipes. For the chicken, I diced up 2 large breasts & sprinkled them with taco seasoning in a sautee pan. When I melted the butter, I threw in a few minced garlic cloves. Instead of mixing the cheese into the soup, I just put some on top when I served the soup. For the tortilla strips, I slice up a couple of shoft taco shells, put a little olive oil on them & baked them in the oven until they were crisp. Really, really tasty soup, lots of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
I didn't have much time to prepare, so I stuck with the main ingredients (minus thickening it with flour), threw it all in the slow cooker and let it cook for 8 hours. The chicken was shredded and the flavor was amazing. I added a little dollop of sour cream and shredded tortilla strips at the end. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jilliene

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
Everyone loved the soup. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
Excellenct soup - I would recommend using more poblanos for a spicier soup - also took a reviewers advice & added some taco seasoning - very good topped with tortilla chips & a little sour cream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bullfrog270

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
This was fabulous and super easy to prepare! The only change I made was to lessen the butter and add some taco seasoning. Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MILKLISSA79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
Very tasty and colorful. I was looking for a way to use up my tiny garden poblanos, and this fit the bill perfectly. After making the roux, I added a minced onion, then swapped diced sweet potato for black beans, crushed garlic for powder, and fresh roasted corn-on-the-cob instead of canned. Come January, I don't think that will matter. I'll definitely be making this recipe for a winter warm-up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sutherland, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Edgerton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Tequila Lime Chicken

See a tasty homemade take on a famous tequila-lime chicken dish.

Lemon Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic chicken dish with a tart lemon-butter sauce.

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States