Cheesy Chicken Pepper Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2006
This recipe was super tasty! I took the advise of others and added onions and tomatoes to the chicken sautee. I used salt to taste on all of it and because I didn't have the muenster(?) cheese I improvised with what I had ie provolone, colby and jack and parmesean cheese and I tripled the garlic cloves (we love garlic) and I kept whisking without stopping till I got the right consistency. This was a huge hit with the family, everyone had seconds!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2004
I have LOVED this recipe since I first used it a year ago. Its important to remember to stir constantly or the sauce will stick. I did not have garlic powder, so I used extra garlic instead and did not lose out on the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2004
This was excellent! Not to mention it made a ton of food...I changed it up a bit, added green pepper, onion, and zuchinni, two cloves of garlic instead of one, (with no garlic powder) and only used half as much cheese as the recipe called for. I also used sharp cheddar instead of muenster. It was still plenty cheesy, though. I also used 1% milk. I think these changes didn't affect the taste one bit and made it a little healthier. I did need to add the cornstarch, and used angel hair instead of linguine. Fabulous, will definitely be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2000
Since I am not a pepper person I left them out, still GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2001
This was a very good recipe. I used what I had so I made a few small changes. I used green pepper, more garlic cloves and powder, and seasoned flour instead of cornstarch. The kids liked it, I just didn't give them any of the pepper. You will need to shred the cheese yourself before you add it. This is a simple and tasty dish. Also, I used egg noodles instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2001
The first time I made this recipe, it was lumpy. The second time, I stirred constantly and GRATED the cheese. Its delicious and I love the peppers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2002
THIS RECIPE IS SUPER!! For those of you who had "chunks" in your sauce, the secret is to heat over med heat, use SHREDDED muenster cheese (or shred it yourself) and STIR CONSTANTLY! I did have to thicken with a tsp of cornstarch. To avoid the "lack of taste" complaint, when frying the chicken, I diced half an onion and threw in a minced garlic clove. Along with sauting the red bell peppers, I also threw in some fresh sliced mushrooms and seasoned it all with 1 tsp garlic powder (and used another tsp of garlic powder in the sauce). This recipe really delivers if you can master it. It's really not difficult but you have to pay attention to the sauce. Serve with a tossed salad and breadsticks to soak up the sauce and you have a great meal. I received praise from my entire family! Thank you Heidi for being so inventive and sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2002
This recipe was pretty good. Next time I will add some additional vegetables such as yellow squash or zuchinni. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2003
This is one of the first pasta recipes I ever tried from this site and I have been making almost once per month for the last 6 months! Its wonderful and I have impressed many a guest who have been over to eat dinner with me! The cheese doesn't melt easily. There will be a few small shreds of cheese that just seem impossible to melt entirely. The trick is (as another stated) to stir constantly and once it is smooth...its done. Trust me, once over a bed of noodles, the small clumps (if any) aren't noticable in taste or appearance. HOWEVER, if you overcook the sauce (which I accidently found out once) the sauce will seperate. Be sure not to overcook!! I love this dish and am soo pleased with it, I just had to add my comments!! Thank you Heidi! If you have more recipes like this, pass them on!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2006
When trying to imagine how this dish would taste, I thought it would be somewhat like a cheesy-salsa dip with pasta. It was so much more amazing than that (although tomatoes would be a great addition in it, too)! My husband said that it smelled like popcorn to him. It tasted even better. I doubled this dish and took it to my in-laws for their anniversary dinner party. Everyone loved it. The Munster cheese made all the difference in the taste--salty and buttery. I'm normally not a fan of peppers, but they gave the dish just the right flavor. I used tri-colored rotini for the fun of it, since I was also using a tri-colored pepper assortment. I also made it about 6 hours ahead of time since I heard someone say that the leftovers were tasty (and we had to travel with the dish for an hour--better to reheat it). I will totally make this dish again. I didn't have a problem with the sauce, although I was afraid it would be too runny. When poured onto the pasta, it was just fine. I couldn't stop sampling it after I finished preparing it. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken and Bow Tie Pasta

See how to make chicken with vegetables in a creamy cheese sauce.

Chicken Asiago and Orzo Pasta

Learn how to make an amazingly simple orzo and chicken pasta dish.

Greek Chicken Pasta

See how to make Greek-style pasta with chicken and artichokes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States