Cheesy Chicken Florentine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2005
This recipe was a very good base recipe to work with. I didn't give it a five because I made several adjustments to it which I believe greatly improved the flavor. This is what I did: I cut the chicken breasts into medium sized chunks, seasoned the chicken with the juice of one lemon, salt & pepper (to taste), and several dashes of garlic powder and cumin powder. I cooked the chicken completely on the stovetop until no longer pink. I put this on top of the spinach mix. The only things I changed in the spinach mix were adding one heaping teaspoon of minced garlic, a dash of hot sauce,a bit of ground black pepper and using a bag of shredded cheese called "6 Cheese Italian" which I find more to my liking. I find Swiss cheese to be too bland. For the bread crumb mixture, I used bread crumbs seasoned with pecorino romano cheese. They were regular fine bread crumbs because I didn't have coarse bread crumbs. Since I had cooked the chicken completely on the stovetop, I placed the casserole in the oven for only 35 minutes (uncovered), and it turned out wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2005
this dish is sooo awesome and so easy to make!! I absolutely loved it and it is so healthy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2005
Easy to make but very average in taste. I guess it did get my husband to eat spinach, that's a plus. I cubed and browned the chicken and just added it to the rest of the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2005
Everyone that said this was bland just needs to doctor it up a little. This was excellent! I added two cups of fresh broccoli cut in small florets, 3 cloves fresh garlic, and 1/2 cup parmesan to the mix and the topping. Also, I seasoned the chicken with parsley and garlic powder in addition to the salt and pepper when sauteeing. My family really enjoyed it and it had a lot of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2005
BLAND!!! And it was such a pain to make! ...Never again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by menasheep

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evening Shade, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2004
This was really good. I used creamed spinach, and my husband, who hates spinach loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2004
This recipe was so easy to cut in half to serve 3-4 people. I used orzo instead of the white rice - one cup uncooked orzo: 1 cup uncooked orzo 2 cups chicken broth 1 cup water 1 tbsp olive oil Put olive oil and orzo in 2 qt glass dish; stir until grains are thoroughly coated. Add broth and water; in the microwave, cook on high for 5 minutes and then stir. Cover, but leave gap for steam to escape, and cook on 50% power for an additional 15-20 minutes, or until liquid is absorbed. Also, I used provolone cheese instead of swiss, using 4 slices over spinach layer and 4 slices over chicken. I sprinkled the buttered bread crumbs over the cheese. It was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Round Hill, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2002
I substituted cheddar cheese for the swiss, and it was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2002
I thought this was good, but I over-baked it and it turned out a little dry. I added a few more spices to the rice mixture and used Cheddar for a little more kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2002
very good however I cut the chicken into cubes and then put it on top for ease in serving/eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States