Cheesy Catfish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2002
This was very good! I won't say my kids loved it but my husband and I did. Afer reading other reviews I did the following: I made sure the fish weren't crowded in the pan. I used a shallow pan, and I cooked it in a 375 degree convection oven for 30 minutes. It came out crispy on the outside and just right on the inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2002
The idea was good, but the catfish turned out a little bland and mushy. I ended up turning the oven on to broil to crisp up the crust. The fish would have turned out better if the fish was fried instead of baked. If I make it again I will definitely need to add more seasoning and use bread crumbs instead of flour. I use the same ingredients, substitute the flour for breadcrumbs, on chicken breast. It is really good. The breadcrumbs give the fish or chicken a crispier crust than the flour does.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2004
I was a little hesitant to make this recipe but I'm so glad I did. I made a few changes. I seasoned the catfish with a bit of salt, garlic, and black pepper before dipping into the egg. For the flour/cheese mixture, I didn't use any flour at all, I subsituted the flour with seasoned bread crumbs, and I added cayenne pepper to the mixture. I baked it in the oven for about 35 minutes, then put it in the broiler for another 5 minutes for crispiness. Once crispy, I spread some shredded cheddar cheese on top of the filets, and left it in the oven(not broiler again) for a couple of minutes, until the cheddar was melted. It was perfect!! My husband had seconds, and leftovers for lunch the next day. He said this is one of his favorites now. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2001
I also added garlic and cayenne to the dredging mixture, and had to bake the fish for 25-30 minutes. Everyone raved, and it was welcomed as a new catfish recipe for the family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2003
This recipe was great. I took other suggestions and used tilapia and baked at it at 375 for 30 minutes. I also substituted half of the flour for breadcrumbs. It was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2003
This was really the best, I did as everyone said and used seasoned bread crumbs instead of the flour and it was delicious! In addition i allowd the filets to marinade in a mixture of blended chive, a bit of garlic, pepper and lemon juice before dipping it in the egg mixture and. I also used cheddar and not parmesan and allowed it to bake for 30 minutes and it tasted great. However next time I will dip the fish in egg first then flour then egg and breadcrumbs. In that way I'll get more to stick to the fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Dorado, Tunapuna-Piarco, Trinidad And Tobago

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2002
I used catfish nuggets and it turned out great! I didn't use all of the cheese mixture, it kept great in a ziplock bag in the freezer until the next time I made this. My husband even liked it and he's doesn't usually like fish very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2003
The fish turned out too bland, and I didn't like that it wasn't at all crispy on the outside. It needs longer time in the oven and bread crumbs coating instead of flour. I probably won't cook it again. I was dissapointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2001
This recipe truly is simple to make and is very delicious. My family loved it, children included! I experimented and substituted about 1/4 tsp, or a little more, of Old Bay seasoning and some garlic powder for the salt and pepper. I will definitely use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2002
This turned out mushy for me, too, and it definately needed to be cooked longer than 15 minutes. The flavor was a little bland. My husband ended up pouring hot sauce over his and he liked it much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roswell, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern-Fried Texas Catfish

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Stephan's authentic deep-fried catfish.

Cheesy Chili Enchiladas

Quick-and-easy cheese enchiladas are smothered in chili-cheese sauce.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States