Cheesy Catfish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
This was pretty good. I omitted the flour and the milk. I seasoned my egg with salt and pepper and I used Italian bread crumbs mixed with garlic powder, parmesan cheese, and Caribbean jerk to spice it up. I put the catfish in the egg and then covered it with the breadcrumb mixture. I put 1 1/2 T melted butter over my two fillets. I baked them at 350 for 18 minutes and then under the broiler for 4 minutes (I did each side of the fish for two minutes). It was pretty good. I squeezed lemon on mine and that added good flavor. I thought it tasted more like chicken than fish, which was good. A nice way to get good-for-you fish without tasting fishy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLICAT2U

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
I give this recipe a 5 after altering the recipe based on other reviewers' suggestions. i used no flour, only bread crumbs. i omitted paprika and instead added a tsp of cayenne pepper (and a little cayenne sure does go a long way). i hardly poured on any butter, less than half, and even that was too much. it does make the catfish soggy. you will def need to use the broiler to crisp up the outside of the fish. and lastly, I added mild chedder on top and had it broiled for about a min. the extra cheese on top really does zest it up. total cook time for me was about 25 minutes. as far as the extra dredge, yeah there is a lot left over, but i like excessive when i am dipping the fish in it. better to have extra than not enough. my husband loved this dish. i will have a hard time topping this meal...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
We were disappointed. It turned out mushy and didn't get golden brown. The kids liked the fish but not the breading. The dog didn't even like the breading. Perhaps broiling and using bread crumbs might help it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Altamont, Illinois, USA
Living In: Centralia, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
My husband and I have agreed to try this recipe again. The first attempt was far too salty. We're going to try it without any salt, and perhaps a little bit less Parmesan Cheese. The combo of cheese and salt was too much, but after a few minor adjustments it definitely deserves a second chance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rio Rancho, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
This is a good recipe for people like me who aren't especially crazy about fish - the catfish had a very mild flavor, and pretty much all I could taste was the Parmesan. Mine was ready in about 10 mins; it would have got mushy if I'd left it any longer. Thanks for a quick, easy and tasty recipe, Deborah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
Good flavor and a nice compliment to the catfish. Easy to make. I will say that the breading could easily be cut back by at least a 1/4C each as there was much left over. I used catfish nuggets, which take up more breading that same weight of filets. Next time would definitely cut back. Baked the fish in a low-sided pan vs. the 13x9 and still had to broil for a few mintues to crisp up a bit. With just a couple tweaks, this was a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2006
My family doesn't ordinarily like fish with a cheese, but the loved this. Just be careful not to overcook, because it will get a little mushy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sumiton, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2006
The taste lacked consistency, proper flavor, and was a bit bland. Take care in the type of catfish you choose to use. Fresh is always best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victor

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Brandon, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2006
Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShdwWlf1065

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2006
Good, but I would have liked some kind of zesty spices added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern-Fried Texas Catfish

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Stephan's authentic deep-fried catfish.

Cheesy Chili Enchiladas

Quick-and-easy cheese enchiladas are smothered in chili-cheese sauce.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States