Cheesy Catfish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
Agree with some of the other reviewers - went by the recipe and it was just too soggy - didn't seem to cook thoroughly either. Put it back into the oven several times to cook longer because it wasn't done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Alabama, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2007
THe recipe as is is just a 3, but following the other people suggestions turned it up... here is waht we did. omit the flour, use seasonsed bread crumbs/cornmeal (you could use panko too), Old bay seasoning instead of paprika, and salt and pepper in the egg wash. I did 2 almost 1/2 lb fillets and cooked for 20 (flipping 1/2 way) at 375. Then i did 4-6 minutes under the broiler (flipping again). this crisped up the outside and left the inside soft and flaky. perfect. My kids (5, 2 and 2) are the pickiest eaters and they all loved mommies "fish sticks".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stinabina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mundelein, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2007
I did not enjoy this dish. We followed the recipe to the letter except for the butter, because my husband and I are trying to eat more healthy, and we thought more fish, baked or grilled, would be the best way to go. the fish was soggy and didn't get crisp. My husband said he might take the leftovers and try pan-frying them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura McKenney

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: White Hall, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2007
Didn't crisp up, was soggy. Not very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Loomis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
This was excellent! I replaced half the flour with bread crumbs and this turn out great! It was crunchy on the outside and perfect inside!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SuzyQ

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2007
A friend and I made this as part of our monthly meals (this is a great recipe to freeze for a later meal). She baked it, DELICIOUS!! and I grilled it, DELICIOUS!! Even the children (18mo, 3,4,6) all ate and loved it. If you do grill it make sure you cook it on one side, and do not flip it untill it no longer sticks, this way it doesn't fall apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steph Seibert

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harriman, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2007
I love this recipe and use it over and over again. I followed the recipe to a "T" the first time, but put it under the broiler (even then) to create a nice crust, which was needed before i would serve it. It seemed like the cook time was way off as i had to leave the fish in for almost an hour - this could be because i had larger fillets or maybe an uneven oven? I've come to the point where I use less flour and more cheese and spices to make it more crusty and less doughy. I still love it and never fails to impress! Tonight, I will adapt the recipe with some catfish nuggets I scored. Can't wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
Followed the basic premise of the recipe but with the following modifications: used 1/2 cup cornmeal and 1/2 cup breadcrumbs in place of flour, 1/2 tsp salt, 1 tsp garlic powder, 1 tsp ancho pepper (penzeys), broiled for 10 mins, flipped for 5 and flipped again for 2 to make both sides crunchy. Would probably go 5, 5, 5 in the future. Would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2007
This was edible, but the flavors just weren't impressive. It was just blah.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYTHA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
This recipe has been changed so much, it doesn't seem like the original at all. I used catfish nuggets, dispensed with the egg, milk and melted butter. Used butter-flavored Pam on a cookie sheet. Sprinkled the fish with seasoned salt, let it sit about 15 min. Used 2 parts Italian bread crumbs, 1 part Parmesan cheese and a little more seasoned salt & garlic powder for the coating. Increased oven temp to 375° and baked for 25 min. No mushy fish; it was crisp and delicious! I will definitly be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Hoffman, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Southern-Fried Texas Catfish

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Stephan's authentic deep-fried catfish.

Cheesy Chili Enchiladas

Quick-and-easy cheese enchiladas are smothered in chili-cheese sauce.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States