Cheesy Catfish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
Outstanding recipe. I did mine in a roaster oven and topped with some summer squash and zuzhini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
I normally study the reviews before trying out a new recipe, but this time I forgot to. I'm so glad I didn't b/c I probably wouldn't have made it if I had. The catfish turned out great, I don't eat fish, but my husband was raving about it. I made it exactly as the recipe called for. The only thing I did differently was to add a touch of lemon pepper seasoning to the tops of the catfish before pouring on the butter. I also had to bake it for another 5 minutes. Don't listen to the other reviews, the recipe is great as-is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Hogan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waxahachie, Texas, USA
Living In: Willis, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
This was soooo good and so easy. I did substitute the flour with bread crumbs and the catfish with tilapia since it was what I had on hand. And I only used 1/8 c. of butter to decrease the fat. The last 3 minutes I broiled it to give it a crunchy exterior and it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CINDYBANA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Harper Woods, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
This is the most delicious catfish recipe I have ever tasted! As I am dieting, I made a few modifications: I didn't use any egg, just dipped the fillets in the milk. I didn't use any flour but 1/3 seasoned breadcrumbs and 2/3 grated parmesan cheese, added garlic powder, a dash of garlic salt and placed the fillets on a cookie tray with aluminum foil sprayed with canola spray. Instead of pouring butter over the cutlets, I gently sprinkled parmesan on top of the fillets and then sprayed some I Can't Believe It's Not Butter on top. I baked it at 350 for about 10 minutes and it looked like nothing was happening so I set the oven to low broil for 5 1/2 minutes and it was moist and crisp around the edges. I shaved a few slivers of sharp cheddar and placed it on top of the fillets as previously suggested and left the fillets in the oven for 1 minute with the oven off just to melt the cheese. Absolutely delicious, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
As long as you leave it in the oven a little longer until it's a little crusty it will come out great! A side of angel hair with a parmesan sauce is excellent to pair with this. No one has ever NOT liked this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMBROSIA1968

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Elmira, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
I can't imagine why anyone would give this recipe fewer than 5 stars! I did mess with it, but just barely. Come to think of it, even without the changes, it would STILL deserve five stars for how perfectly the fish turned out--talk about 'melt-in-your-mouth! I sprinkled garlic salt and lemon pepper all over the fillets just before putting them into the oven. After about 30 minutes, I sprinkled shredded colby-jack over them and waited until the top was nice and golden. This is one of the quickest, easiest, delicious recipes I've made. My five-year-old raved about it, and my two-year-old even ate it by the handful because a fork just couldn't do the trick quickly enough! To cut down on the butter puddle, you could put the fillets on a grill pan and put the whole pan in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Banana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
Excellent new way of making catfish. I plan on trying this similar recipe on some chicken as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
This is the BEST fish fillet recipe I've ever done! And, as an old traditional "mackeral snapper" I have many. I scaled it back to three fillets and used seasoned bread crumbs instead of flour. Otherwise, followed the recipe exactly. I used a cookie sheet with aluminum foil sprayed with vegetable spray and it was done in 20 minutes to perfection. The coating was browned, not quite as crisp as deep fried and that's fine. The texture of the fish was perfect- moist and flavorful. Wife usually uses tarter sauce and I usually use liberal amounts of lemon juice. This needed NOTHING ELSE, just fine the way it is. This would probably be a "five" without the seasoned bread crumbs, but I think it causes it to be a "BAM!-kick it up a notch" to even higher. This goes to the very top of my fish fillet list. This is definitely "company good." Thanks Deborah- you rock!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
This was delicious, it left me wanting more than my serving size. Good thing I made just enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
Great recipe. I substituted 3/4 Italian breadcrumbs, for some of the flour. I also baked for 30 mins to make fish crispier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Southern-Fried Texas Catfish

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Stephan's authentic deep-fried catfish.

Cheesy Chili Enchiladas

Quick-and-easy cheese enchiladas are smothered in chili-cheese sauce.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States