Cheesy Catfish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2005
Very good. I omitted the butter (for health reasons and I sprayed Pam on the fish instead. It browned up nicely and was very good. I also seasoned my fish prior to dipping it in the egg mixture which I think adds to the flavor. I would definitely make this again and next time would take the suggestion of using breadcrumbs instead of flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2004
I am a novice cheif and this simple receipe made me look like a pro. I chose this receipe to cook as a first meal for my boyfriend, who is not a big fan of fish. Needless to say, he loved the fish. I did alter the receipe according to SASSYSTARR suggestion. Also instead of Catfish I used Tapalia. Next time I will try it with Catfish though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2004
i used some suggestions and made some changes on my own to add more flavor - i used cornmeal instead of flour, cajun spice instead of paprika, and broiled the fish for 5 minutes at the end with cheddar cheese on it. my husband absolutely loved it and both kids asked for seconds. i was still a little bit uncertain about catfish with cheese, but i will make this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelburne, Vermont, USA
Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2004
This recipe is great tasting, simple, and fast, what more could you ask for. Four Stars!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2004
I'm not a big fan of catfish, but this was good. I took some advice from other reviewers and added some garlic powder and seasoned salt to the flour. Next time I will use less flour, but it was still good. A few minutes under the broiler made it nice and crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2004
I didn't have catfish so I used Ocean Perch. Delicious--and my wife loved it. I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WHITEBEAR

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2004
This was a great recipe. Instead of grated parmesean, I used a mixture of shredded cheeses and it turned out great. This recipe gave me a new appreciation for catfish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2004
Great on chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2004
I was a little hesitant to make this recipe but I'm so glad I did. I made a few changes. I seasoned the catfish with a bit of salt, garlic, and black pepper before dipping into the egg. For the flour/cheese mixture, I didn't use any flour at all, I subsituted the flour with seasoned bread crumbs, and I added cayenne pepper to the mixture. I baked it in the oven for about 35 minutes, then put it in the broiler for another 5 minutes for crispiness. Once crispy, I spread some shredded cheddar cheese on top of the filets, and left it in the oven(not broiler again) for a couple of minutes, until the cheddar was melted. It was perfect!! My husband had seconds, and leftovers for lunch the next day. He said this is one of his favorites now. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2004
This was good, but a little bland. I added a little bit of shredded monterey jack cheese to the top of the fish about 5 minutes before it was done. I think that gave it a little bit more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern-Fried Texas Catfish

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Stephan's authentic deep-fried catfish.

Cheesy Chili Enchiladas

Quick-and-easy cheese enchiladas are smothered in chili-cheese sauce.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States