Cheesy Catfish Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2004
THIS WAS EXCELLENT!! I bought some catfish nuggets on sale and didn't know what the heck to do with them. Then I saw this recipe and gave it a try. I had some LEFTOVER Shrimp and Corn and threw that in to bulk it up. This is so versitile I will definitly keep this one handy. Thanks Kathy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BajaValle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2005
Good chowder! I did make a few changes. Sauteed the onions & celery together. Added a couple spoonfuls (no, didn't measure!) to the onion/celery/butter mixture to make more of a roux, then added broth, milk, carrots, potatos. Also added marojam, oregano, basil, thyme, parsley, dash of paprika, and a bay leaf. Let the potatos and carrots cook for longer (we like softer). We really enjoyed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
My husband told me to give this recipe five stars! I followed the recipe exactly except for a couple of substitutions: instead of milk (I was out) I used a mixture of heavy cream and water (2 parts water, three parts heavy cream), instead of chicken broth (I was out of that too) I mixed some water and chicken flavored Top Ramen mix together and it turned out great. I used extra sharp, aged cheddar cheese which gave it a nice flavor. I also added a pinch of Tony's Cajun seasoning and topped the whole thing off with paprika. Really delicious, especially if you have some extra catfish and don't know what to do with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Stevens

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Tehachapi, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2006
Very easy to make and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Holly, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2005
I didn't really think I'd like catfish, but this was really great! The kids liked it, too! Next time I'll add some more herbs and the corn, as someone else suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dale, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Madeira, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2006
Great soup! Everyone enjoyed it. I made some changes that were suggested and some of my own. I used skim milk and I sautéed the onions & celery together as suggested by others. We also cooked the vegetables longer too. The big change I made that I think made my soup absolutely delicious was I used Cajun seasoned catfish. The flavor permeated the soup and it was AWESOME. Now, of course, you must like Cajun flavors. It was not real strong, but it was wonderful. We all enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
This recipe is so simple and delicious.. I followed the recipe's instructions ALMOST exactly (I decided to use a 1/2 tsp of salt instead of celery salt), and it turned out great! The only thing I'd do differently next time is to add more cheese though. Other than that, my family and friends loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2006
This was okay. It tasted a little weird, but I think it's because my catfish was not the freshest. I threw out the catfish and mixed in drained canned salmon, which tasted much better. Next time, I'll use imitation crab meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
Sooo good! I made lots of changes, but tried the base recipe and it was very good! It definitely needed some seasoning, I used cajun seasoning and Old Bay and oregano. I didn't have enough fish (used tilapia) so I supplemented some shrimp. Added some crumbled turkey bacon to the top. Yummmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2002
Put a nice garnish and this 5 star meal is fit for a king! A must for catfish lovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States