Cheesy Catfish Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2002
Put a nice garnish and this 5 star meal is fit for a king! A must for catfish lovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2004
THIS WAS EXCELLENT!! I bought some catfish nuggets on sale and didn't know what the heck to do with them. Then I saw this recipe and gave it a try. I had some LEFTOVER Shrimp and Corn and threw that in to bulk it up. This is so versitile I will definitly keep this one handy. Thanks Kathy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BajaValle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2005
Good chowder! I did make a few changes. Sauteed the onions & celery together. Added a couple spoonfuls (no, didn't measure!) to the onion/celery/butter mixture to make more of a roux, then added broth, milk, carrots, potatos. Also added marojam, oregano, basil, thyme, parsley, dash of paprika, and a bay leaf. Let the potatos and carrots cook for longer (we like softer). We really enjoyed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2005
I didn't really think I'd like catfish, but this was really great! The kids liked it, too! Next time I'll add some more herbs and the corn, as someone else suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dale, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Madeira, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2006
This was okay. It tasted a little weird, but I think it's because my catfish was not the freshest. I threw out the catfish and mixed in drained canned salmon, which tasted much better. Next time, I'll use imitation crab meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2006
Very easy to make and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Holly, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2006
Great soup! Everyone enjoyed it. I made some changes that were suggested and some of my own. I used skim milk and I sautéed the onions & celery together as suggested by others. We also cooked the vegetables longer too. The big change I made that I think made my soup absolutely delicious was I used Cajun seasoned catfish. The flavor permeated the soup and it was AWESOME. Now, of course, you must like Cajun flavors. It was not real strong, but it was wonderful. We all enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
Yummy!! I followed the recipe exactly and this was an awesome stew!! I used 2% Milk Cheese, 1% Milk, and Light Butter to make it a little lower in calories. This is a wonderful stew for a cold evening or for tailgating! Don't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KENTIBUR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laurens, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2007
Absolutely delicious. Don't change a thing! My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2007
Kids gobbled this down ! Great way to get them to eat fish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by docswife

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Morganfield, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States