Cheesy Catfish Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
I thought the flavor of this was very very good, but it was pretty watery, I suppose being a chowder, I was expecting it to be a bit thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooksfor6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
I didn't really like this. I guess I just don't like fish in soup, personal preference. Also, the milk I used separated and it sort of looked like gruel. I had some catfish to use up and didn't want to make fried catfish, but thanks for letting me try something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patrick Luce

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
My husband told me to give this recipe five stars! I followed the recipe exactly except for a couple of substitutions: instead of milk (I was out) I used a mixture of heavy cream and water (2 parts water, three parts heavy cream), instead of chicken broth (I was out of that too) I mixed some water and chicken flavored Top Ramen mix together and it turned out great. I used extra sharp, aged cheddar cheese which gave it a nice flavor. I also added a pinch of Tony's Cajun seasoning and topped the whole thing off with paprika. Really delicious, especially if you have some extra catfish and don't know what to do with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Stevens

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Tehachapi, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
This recipe is so simple and delicious.. I followed the recipe's instructions ALMOST exactly (I decided to use a 1/2 tsp of salt instead of celery salt), and it turned out great! The only thing I'd do differently next time is to add more cheese though. Other than that, my family and friends loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
I also added shark and tossed in some shrimp at the end... it was Fab !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
That's a really delicious recipe and very easy to make. I used canned salmon instead of the catfish and served it with rice. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
Delicious as written - I made a few changes, some worked, some didn't. I recommend adding a splash of hot sauce. To make a healthier version, use skim milk and reduce cheese to 1 cup, and increase veggies. Serve with sourdough bread for a hearty lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
This recipe was great! It will serve as a great basic chowder recipe that you can improvise with. I had fresh tilapia instead of catfish and used that and just added some fresh herbs I had on hand. Definitely consider putting whatever fish/ shellfish is on special or looks the feshest at the seafood counter/ fishmonger into this chowder recipe and you can be sure it will come out fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
Yummy chowder. Didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
Mixed this recipe with the Shrimp Chowder recipe (no catfish) for the best cheesy chowder ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashleigh Hobbs

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Chef John's Bay Scallop Chowder

See how to make creamy chowder with scallops, potatoes, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States