Cheesy Carrots Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2015
I know that it is not proper to rate a recipe if you have changed it; however, after reading the reviews and making the recommended changes, I can honestly say this is a five star recipe. I pureed the carrots in a food processor,added 1/3 cup of milk, eliminated the peppers, reduced the cheese to 6 ounces, added 1 teaspoon of garlic powder, used dried parsley flakes and just sprinkled enough bread crumbs to cover and finally baked it all in a 2 qt round baking dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roger

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lee's Summit, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
I made this is written, except I omitted the green pepper. It came out well. I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
This is so delicious. I didn't have regular bread crumbs so I added Panko bread crumbs. I also didn't have parsley, so I added ground 1/8- 1/4 tsp of: thyme, red pepper, cumin, oregano. (I went a bit wild on the spices, cuz I wanted to add more flavor.) The rest of recipe stayed the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
used fresh carrots from my garden and this recipe tasted so great!!!! I wasnt sure if cheese and carrots go together but so great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
Nice change of pace for a side dish. I agree with other reviewers...Add 1/3 cup milk to overcome dryness and reduce breadcrumbs to 1/4 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
This recipe is a yummy, different take on carrots. I do, however, agree with the reviewers who said it could use a bit more flavor. The next time I make it I will probably add some green onion. Very good over all though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Schubert

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
This was a really nice side dish for a traditional Sunday roast. I left out the green pepper as it did not seem to go with the consistency and flavour I was looking for in this dish. Thank you for this easy and yummy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chicken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
This is a good recipe. I didn't use the green bell pepper because to me, they can have an overpowering flavor. Oddly enough, an old boss' wife made a similar dish for dinner one evening except the carrots weren't mashed. I decided to use this addition and it was fabulous. Fried it up, drained it, patted it with paper towels, crushed it and threw it in before popping it in the oven. Bacon...always a winner in our household. Thanks so much, Linda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
It was delicious!!! A great way to eat carrots; I didn't have any peppers but still came out great. TY for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
Here's the thing with this recipe: I wanted to follow it exact, I usually do when making it for the first time. The problem was that I was out of sharp cheddar cheese, which could have been a problem, but Costco just talked me into buying some horseradish cheddar. Since I saw a few other recipes for carrots that had horseradish I thought, hey it's worth a shot. And guess what, this turned out delicious!!! Chock one up to Costco for making me buy some weird ol' cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brandysue

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttery Cooked Carrots

Simmered in brown sugar, these sweet, tender carrots are so quick and easy.

Ginger Carrots and Dates

Brown sugar and chopped dates add a sweet counterpoint to spicy gingered carrots.

Candied Carrots

See how to make sautéed carrots in a simple brown sugar and butter glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States