Cheesy Campfire Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 10, 2014
This didn't taste bad, but it was just like eating breakfast potatoes. I did cut the recipe back to 2 servings and I used a handheld julianne cutter I recently bought and wanted to try out. My other main issue, is that I had major trouble with sticking. The one closest to the heat source, burned half the potato to the foil. I used a little olive oil instead of PAM spray, maybe that is really needed here? To the credit of the submitter, I have never made a foil packet recipe. I also used a small propane grill. I would attempt this again, if camping for instance. What I could salvage cooked through and tasted fine. However, I would be saving it for breakfast. These would be a good idea with those pre-cubed type potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2014
Delicious! First attempt, on the learning curve with a new grill, I burnt the bottom 1/8 " BLACK. And they were good!! My son wound up not coming for dinner that night and I ate my pack AND his! And barely touched my strip steak. Second attempt even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
Easy to fix, but next time I may leave out the onion, personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sasksi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
I made these tonight tasted good I did use all cheddar cheese this is a very easy sidedish for the grill next time im gonna crumble up some bacon over the cheese yummy! Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Photo by SMClanton
Reviewed: May 1, 2012
i tweaked these to personal preference. I subsituted onion powder for the onions, left out the butter and only used a colby jack cheese blend. these were amazing! i sliced them really thin and they didn't take 20 minutes to cook on my gas grill. i will be using variations of this recipe all through the summer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SMClanton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
YUMMY! We don't go camping without this recipe! Only changes made were to add crumbled bacon and use a garlic/black pepper blend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by booklady2005

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
So easy and so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spring, Texas, USA
Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
We make these often when camping. Followed this recipe pretty much except had no Mozzarella cheese. Different potatoes take different times. We had Idaho and they take a good hour to cook well enough. Red potatoes will cook in the time recipe specifies. We have added bacon we had leftover from breakfast before and that is really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
Yum! I added a couple slices of crumbled up bacon left over from breakfast, didn't have any leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MichaeleM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elberfeld, Indiana, USA
Living In: Lyons, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Made this for a campout I just returned from. They went over sooo well! I made it at home and stuck it in the cooler. I also used a foil pan I purchased at the dollar store so I didn't have any cleanup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jolena74

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paris, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Fondant Potatoes

Impressive, perfect potatoes with tender, creamy insides and crispy edges.

Fachamatta's Famous Potatoes

See the amazing story behind Joseph Crecca’s famous “Fachamatta Potatoes.”

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States