Cheesy Butternut Squash Pasta Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
I was looking for an idea of what to do with butternut squash so I tried this out. I like that all of the ingredients are things that are normally in the kitchen. The sauce was sweet and savory and cheesy and delicious. Next time I think I will puree it when done so that it covers the pasta better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
I thought the taste was wonderful. I did make a couple changes based on what I had though. I didn't have milk (doh!), so I substituted light sour cream instead. As the other reviewer suggested, I added mushrooms. I used about 3/4 of a cup of fresh shitake and button mushrooms, but next time, I think I'll double the mushrooms. I also added about 1/4 cup of blown sugar. I thought the dish was a little bland, and the sugar allowed the flavors to blend wonderfully. I think next time I will also use more apple and cut the pieces a little bigger. I had cut then into 1/4 inch pieces, but next time I will do 1/2-3/4 inch pieces so you can taste the apple more. Well, my husband liked it, so it's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
I made this vegan by using some almond milk in place of regular milk, using double the olive oil and omitting the butter, using vegetable broth in place of chicken broth, and shredded soy mozzarella in place of the italian cheeses. it still turned out delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gracewright90

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brunswick, Maine, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
Another way to prepare this is to use the frozen pureed butternut squash. It's in a box type of container that you microwave. Make a rue with butter and flour and a little milk. When thick add in butternut squash and parm cheese. Loosen with more milk if needed. I then stir in grated nutmeg and a little chopped fresh or dried sage, salt, pepper. Incorporate mixture with cooked pasta, I use shells, put into butterd dish, sprinkle with a mixture of panko, seasoned breadcrumbs, a little more parm, and melted butter. Sprinkle on to and bake 35 to 45 minutes or till bubbly and browned. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
Other than roasting my squash (cut lengthwise, drizzled with oil, made a tiny pool of oil in the cavity where I placed a clove of garlic and baked at 375 until squash was soft and cooked through), I followed the ingredients in this recipe exactly. When I was done I sampled and it was pretty bland. I added more salt and pepper to taste, more cheese and a hint of ground sage (not a big sage fan but it's quite tasty with butternut squash). I thought the sweetness was enough but I think it also depends on what kind of apple you use. I used a honeycrisp apple because they are awesome (sweet and tart) and I don't think I would have enjoyed this recipe as much if it were any sweeter. I also put the mixture in the food processor but left it a little chunky. Even the hubby liked it and he's a fussy pain in the you-know-what to cook for. Anyways, after those modifications I would give this recipe 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
I made this recipes (almost) as directed and was unhappy with the final look of the sauce. The cheese did not melt into the sauce; it just kind of "glommed" onto the other vegetables. It also did not thicken much. This may have been due to the fact that I could only get a Mexican cheese blend and perhaps the Italian cheese blend would have melted appropriately. It may also have been that the temperature was too hight I don't know BUT.....I added a 1/4 brown sugar and puree'd the whole thing until it looked a bit like a very thick squash soup. I served it over pasta with a sprinkling of fresh parsley and some parmesan cheese and my husband LOVED it! He said it was one of the most orginal and tasty pasta dishes I have ever made. He even asked for more sauce to put on his pasta half way through his serving. I will try making this again with an Italian cheese blend as I would like a more chunky look for the sauce but it's great to know that the fall back position (if it does not work) will still be a big hit with my family. Thanks for a winner!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
This was great. Sweet and savory. I only had parmasan on hand so I used that and also had to add more liquid to get it thinned out for my noodles. Next time I'd like to puree it. Tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by darthotto

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
TO DIE FOR! Rich, buttery, and a delicious mix of sweet and savoury. I am in love (shhh, don't tell my husband...). I followed this recipe almost to a T, the only changes I made were to use a slightly different blend of cheeses (parmesan, asiago, smoked provolone, and mozzarella, as this was the only Italian blend my grocery store had to offer), and also, once I had simmered the sauce to my desired consistency I found it a bit too chunky for my/my husband's liking, so I pureed it in the blender. It came out so creamy and rich and wonderful,my husband and I both loved it and we will definitely be making this again. SOON! I think I will try it with heavy cream in place of the milk as well, just for a change, as that would make it even creamier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
I made a few changes though... I used medium-ish sized butternut squash- didn't measure it (cut in half, scooped out seeds & strings, baked cut side up at 400F for 45 minutes then cut side down for another 15-10 minutes & it was ready), I chopped up the 1/3 cup of onion/whole apple/4 cloves of garlic in a food processor then sauteed in EVOO/butter. No stock so used 3/4 cup water + chicken bouillon cube, 1/2 cup soy milk, 1/3 cup 5% cooking cream then mashed the sauce to make more smooth (the sauce has texture unless you were to strain it before the addition of cheese) and then added a cheddar garlic-herb cheese blend. I forgot to mention how I seasoned the sauce... Dash each of onion salt/pepper/ginger/cinnamon, good pinch of nutmeg and about 2 TBsps. brown sugar. Savoury, but with a little sweetness. It's not perfect, so but definitely something you can tweak to your liking... Some reviewers mention adding mushrooms, I think that would add a nice meat-y taste to the sauce and will try that next time if i have any on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
This was such an awesome idea and really good recipe. Live in S.Africa and Butternut is super cheap when bought in bulk so I needed some creative ideas on what to do with them. I made a few changes do to lack of ingredients in this country and tweaked to our liking. I added about half a cup of chopped mushrooms and 5 garlic cloves because it can never be to garlicky. Used a whole small apple and since we do not have very much italian cheese in this country and what we do have is SUPER expensive. So I used something that is called Tussers cheese here that is white and Parmesan that is in a shaker and it turned out awesome. The reason I gave 4 stars is because my husband used to be a cook and he said it was a 4 star recipe. Thanks for the idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

Butternut Squash and Mascarpone Gnocchi

See how to make homemade gnocchi with butternut squash and mascarpone.

Easy Butternut Squash Ravioli

See how to make surprisingly simple squash ravioli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States