Cheesy Butternut Squash Pasta Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 29, 2015
So, I kind of made up things as I went along, taking into consideration what I had/needed to use up and other people's comments. I had an entire squash (I ended up with 6 cups, so I have lots of sauce!), so I multiplied this recipe by 3. I read that a few people wanted more apple, so I chopped up 2 whole gala apples. I knew that I would be pureeing the sauce at the end (thanks to other comments), so I didn't worry about chopping everything small. I added one whole cucumber (quartered lengthwise then sliced) to the saute in the beginning. I had some spinach and a banana that needed using, so I divided the apple/garlic/onion/cuc mix into two pans. In one pan I added 3 cups of squash and a chopped ripe banana. In the other I added the other 3 cups of squash and a bunch of finely chopped fresh spinach. I didn't have any broth/etc, so I just added 1.5 cups of water to each pan, boiled and simmered. I decided to create a cheese sauce to add to the squash instead of just dumping in cheese (thanks to comments). In a third pan, I melted 1/4 cup butter, added 1/4 cup flour, then slowly added 1.5 cups milk, stirred until smooth. I added 1 cup grated colby and lots of parm. When that mix was good, I poured half into the banana pan and the rest into the spinach pan and pureed them both (separately) until smooth. Wow. I really enjoy both flavors! One is banana-y (which I like) and the other is more squash flavor, though it came out more watery than the other pan. Together they are Super!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cinged

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Longview, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mizz_Lyonz
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
I added chili and garlic seasoning as well as some mixed veggies (to make up for the lack of apple in my pantry)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
I used one acorn squash, baked it in the oven then let it cool slightly and scooped it into a bowl. I then mashed it up and added it to the mixture already cooking. I made the choice to add smoked chopped chipolte for heat then added 1T of brown sugar. At the end I puréed it and it turned out awesome. Had a great sweet heat that I will be making lots this fall. Could easily add more broth and make it into a great soup too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: West Bend, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Excellent. I used milk instead of chicken broth to make it creamer. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
It's like Mac and Cheese! Or at least close enough for the kids. I just throw it all into a pot, bring it to a boil, let it simmer until the squash is soft and whir it up with my immersion blender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany Swigart Nelson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Overall I thought this recipe was pretty good. I felt it was a smidge bland so I added some sour cream and crushed red pepper. Just as other reviewers state - the cheese did not consistently met throughout & was a little lumpy. I would make this dish again ;) Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
I would recommend not using it on macaroni (texture is disappointing if expecting it to be mac&cheese.) The onion and garlic really NEEDS to be fresh, for a good flavor. I didn't really like this, so I added a lot of bacon bits - then it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiGGoNZo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
We really enjoyed this, but I made a lot of changes and would make more. I added sauted mushrooms and spinach. I pureed about half of the squash (which I'd steamed) and that gave it a great, creamy texture but with some good soft chunks of squash. I also made a rioux and mixed the cheese in with it. When I make it again, I'll put in a lot more apple (you couldn't really notice it at all) and probably some more garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: White Cloud, Michigan, USA
Living In: Houghton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
Had squash left over from my bisque so I doubled this recipe, substituted coconut milk, coconut oil, and fresh pressed garlic; respectively. I also omitted the cheese, added 1T rubbed sage and 1 1/2 tsp of turmeric. Pureed the whole thing after it was done cooking so it looked more saucy. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Heber, Utah, USA
Living In: St. George, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
Really yummy. I combined this recipe with another one I've used several times for butternut mac n' cheese. That recipe calls for boiling the squash in milk, adding chicken broth, garlic, s&p, and several expensive cheeses which I can never quite bring myself to buy (with the exception of gruyere. It's my guilty splurge). So, for this one, I roasted a large butternut squash, which I diced, tossed with coconut oil, s&p, and minced garlic. I then pureed with some chicken broth, almond milk (reg milk was sour), onion powder, and about three spoonfuls of applesauce (didn't want to use a partial apple). I warmed this puree over the stove and added about a cup of shredded gruyere, a small bag of shredded parmesan, and just a handful of sharp cheddar. Tossed it with a box of cooked whole wheat macaroni, dumped all back into the squash roasting pan (I used a lasagna dish) and topped with fresh homemade sourdough breadcrumbs. YUM. I never could quite find the perfect homemade mac n' cheese dish. Fortunately, with the marriage of these two recipes, who knew that butternut squash was the secret key?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

Butternut Squash and Mascarpone Gnocchi

See how to make homemade gnocchi with butternut squash and mascarpone.

Easy Butternut Squash Ravioli

See how to make surprisingly simple squash ravioli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States