Cheesy Butternut Squash Pasta Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
This was great. Sweet and savory. I only had parmasan on hand so I used that and also had to add more liquid to get it thinned out for my noodles. Next time I'd like to puree it. Tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by darthotto

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
Awesome. I would use more apple next time because I couldn't taste it as much as I was hoping for. Only change I made was to blend the sauce as a final step to make it completely smooth, but I'm sure it'd be great slightly chunky too. Thanks!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
I was looking for an idea of what to do with butternut squash so I tried this out. I like that all of the ingredients are things that are normally in the kitchen. The sauce was sweet and savory and cheesy and delicious. Next time I think I will puree it when done so that it covers the pasta better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
This was delicious! I did make a few revisions though. I could not get a hold of butternut squash, so I went with yellowneck squash. So to keep the butternut squash "theme" I used 1/2 cup of butternut squash soup and 1/2 cup of chicken stock. I also added mushrooms to the recipe as well. All in all, it turned out great! Something I will definitely use in the future
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
I thought the taste was wonderful. I did make a couple changes based on what I had though. I didn't have milk (doh!), so I substituted light sour cream instead. As the other reviewer suggested, I added mushrooms. I used about 3/4 of a cup of fresh shitake and button mushrooms, but next time, I think I'll double the mushrooms. I also added about 1/4 cup of blown sugar. I thought the dish was a little bland, and the sugar allowed the flavors to blend wonderfully. I think next time I will also use more apple and cut the pieces a little bigger. I had cut then into 1/4 inch pieces, but next time I will do 1/2-3/4 inch pieces so you can taste the apple more. Well, my husband liked it, so it's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
I am eager to try this recipe. A couple of weeks ago I had the butternut squash ravioli at Cactus Club Cafe and loved it....this sounds easier. I found an online recipe for the ravioli and it called for nutmeg, I think this would make a tasty addition to the sauce. I like the idea of adding a little brown sugar as well, I will try that. Thanks for all the suggestions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
Very tasty and easy to make! I added a bit more apple and onion than recipe called for but it turned out yummy. I served the sauce on linguini and topped it with crumbled bacon. My daughters gave it a thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
This was really, really good! I did change it a bit because my guy was worried it would be too sweet, so instead of the apple, I used a little less than 1 can of crushed tomatoes, and it was perfect. I also roasted the squash in the oven at 350 for about an hour instead of boiling it, and added some basil and oregano. It ended up being comparable to the fancy-schmancy gourmet butternut squash sauce I get in the store on occasion. This is awesome, and you should try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
This turned out incredibly tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
TO DIE FOR! Rich, buttery, and a delicious mix of sweet and savoury. I am in love (shhh, don't tell my husband...). I followed this recipe almost to a T, the only changes I made were to use a slightly different blend of cheeses (parmesan, asiago, smoked provolone, and mozzarella, as this was the only Italian blend my grocery store had to offer), and also, once I had simmered the sauce to my desired consistency I found it a bit too chunky for my/my husband's liking, so I pureed it in the blender. It came out so creamy and rich and wonderful,my husband and I both loved it and we will definitely be making this again. SOON! I think I will try it with heavy cream in place of the milk as well, just for a change, as that would make it even creamier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

Butternut Squash and Mascarpone Gnocchi

See how to make homemade gnocchi with butternut squash and mascarpone.

Easy Butternut Squash Ravioli

See how to make surprisingly simple squash ravioli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States