Cheesy Butternut Squash Pasta Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
It's like Mac and Cheese! Or at least close enough for the kids. I just throw it all into a pot, bring it to a boil, let it simmer until the squash is soft and whir it up with my immersion blender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany Swigart Nelson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Overall I thought this recipe was pretty good. I felt it was a smidge bland so I added some sour cream and crushed red pepper. Just as other reviewers state - the cheese did not consistently met throughout & was a little lumpy. I would make this dish again ;) Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
I would recommend not using it on macaroni (texture is disappointing if expecting it to be mac&cheese.) The onion and garlic really NEEDS to be fresh, for a good flavor. I didn't really like this, so I added a lot of bacon bits - then it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiGGoNZo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
We really enjoyed this, but I made a lot of changes and would make more. I added sauted mushrooms and spinach. I pureed about half of the squash (which I'd steamed) and that gave it a great, creamy texture but with some good soft chunks of squash. I also made a rioux and mixed the cheese in with it. When I make it again, I'll put in a lot more apple (you couldn't really notice it at all) and probably some more garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: White Cloud, Michigan, USA
Living In: Houghton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
Had squash left over from my bisque so I doubled this recipe, substituted coconut milk, coconut oil, and fresh pressed garlic; respectively. I also omitted the cheese, added 1T rubbed sage and 1 1/2 tsp of turmeric. Pureed the whole thing after it was done cooking so it looked more saucy. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Heber, Utah, USA
Living In: St. George, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
Really yummy. I combined this recipe with another one I've used several times for butternut mac n' cheese. That recipe calls for boiling the squash in milk, adding chicken broth, garlic, s&p, and several expensive cheeses which I can never quite bring myself to buy (with the exception of gruyere. It's my guilty splurge). So, for this one, I roasted a large butternut squash, which I diced, tossed with coconut oil, s&p, and minced garlic. I then pureed with some chicken broth, almond milk (reg milk was sour), onion powder, and about three spoonfuls of applesauce (didn't want to use a partial apple). I warmed this puree over the stove and added about a cup of shredded gruyere, a small bag of shredded parmesan, and just a handful of sharp cheddar. Tossed it with a box of cooked whole wheat macaroni, dumped all back into the squash roasting pan (I used a lasagna dish) and topped with fresh homemade sourdough breadcrumbs. YUM. I never could quite find the perfect homemade mac n' cheese dish. Fortunately, with the marriage of these two recipes, who knew that butternut squash was the secret key?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
Curry! I added some curry when I added the squash into the mixture and it was amazing. I also used almond milk instead of dairy milk and omitted the butter by substituting another TBSP of olive oil. I only had parmesan cheese and a tiny bit of chedder. I used vegetable bullion instead of chicken bullion. Served over rotini noodles, this was an excellent dish. Next time I might puree, but I did like the chunky texture after mashing a few of the cubes of squash. YUM! Will definitely make this again! (4 stars because I think it would have been rather bland without the curry)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
I tried this recipe and absolutely loved it! My new macaroni and "cheese!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
First of all this sauce is so much prettier in bulk! I will take a picture next time as there will be a next time! After reading reviews I made some simple changes. I mashed the squash before putting it in the sauce - I added a tad (maybe a 1/4 cup) of brown sugar, some sage and nutmeg and used most of the apple. What I mean by bulk is that we served it over frozen spinach and cheese ravioli (well I did cook it LOL)so the presentation was very nice! Hubby was hesitant at 1st but went for seconds quite quickly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
So yummy! I used about a half a cup to a cup of applesauce instead of an apple and I pureed the squash first before combining it with the other ingredients. It came out so smooth with a perfect balance of flavors without being too rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash and Mascarpone Gnocchi

See how to make homemade gnocchi with butternut squash and mascarpone.

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

Easy Butternut Squash Ravioli

See how to make surprisingly simple squash ravioli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States