Cheesy Broccoli Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
I did make a couple of changes just because I wanted to use what I had on hand. I used cream of celery soup instead of chicken. I used white rice and left out the celery. I cooked the onions most of the way before adding to the rest of the ingredients. I also baked it in the oven as well. I baked the majority of the time covered and then un-covered and added the french fried onions for a few more minutes at the end. I usually try not to make so many changes when I first try a recipe, but I really don't think they would have changed the overall flavor. Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
I added ham diced and had a complete meal. Very good. Will be a regular in my home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Made this for a late Christmas get-together. I decided to go ahead and bake it, just because I had the time, and that's how I've always done it. Overall, it was very good. I messed up a little and added salt, not realizing that the pre-cooked wild rice I was using was already seasoned. So, it was a little salty for my taste, but again, the recipe doesn't call for salt. :) The only other change was that I added some grated cheddar cheese, both to the dish and on top. I didn't measure, just threw in a handful. It made it very cheesy and rich. The family loved it and my daughter even asked if she could keep the leftovers at her house. So, I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KERIBOWERS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
very good! used brown rice, broccoli and spinach, no topping, and it turned out yummy. will do this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
Used pre-cooked wild rice and cheddar cheese and cooked in oven. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Jackson, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
Excellent - used what I had on hand (white rice instead of wild, breadcrumbs instead of onion rings). Baked in the oven at 350 for about 45 minutes. (Added about a half a can of milk because I was worried it would dry out.) Was devoured by my husband, children and grandchild. Don't be afraid to use more broccoli than called for to yummily sneak even more veggies into your diet. Good stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
I ad diced ham , used cheddar cheese instead of processed cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
Great recipe! My son doesn't like onions, or french fried onions, so I sprinkled bacon bits on top instead. He LOVES bacon, so it was an instant hit...thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carolyn
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
Everyone in my family absolutely loves this recipe! I get rave reviews every time I make it and it's always the first thing to go. I usually make it in a slow cooker though. Couldn't bring myself to use the microwave! I don't change much in the recipe except I used white rice instead of wild. I also skip the onions when I use the slow cooker (they'd be soggy). When I bake it in the oven though, the onions are PERFECT in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Broccoli Casserole

This easy casserole may become a staple at your holiday table.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States