Cheesy Broccoli Chicken Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by akseverson
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
I ended up having to substitute a couple of the ingredients, but this is the best Cheesy Broccoli Chicken Casserole I have ever had. It was tangy, cheesy, buttery, and savory. You have to try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by akseverson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Wichita Falls, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
This is a kid pleasing recipe and the taste is very good! The reason for the 3 stars is because of all the changes I will make when I fix this again. 1 bag of rice will be plenty. I also used frozen broccoli (I had it on hand). I don't like my veggies very mushy, so the broccoli was frozen when I put this in the oven...that was just right! Since next time I will be cutting the rice in half, it might be a good idea to reduce the mayo by 1/2 too. I did not add the curry powder because my family doesn't really care for it and the taste was still very good! I would also reduce the browning time for the chicken to 6-8 minutes on each side, then bake everything for 30. I also did not cut up the chicken. My hubby is watching his carbs, so I left the chicken whole so he wouldn't have to eat a lot of rice to get chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belleville, Kansas, USA
Living In: Evansville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
I loved this item but, it was a lot of work to get to the finished product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
Very good and easy dish to make. I did not add any lemon juice (didn't have any) and I also cut back on the mayo per other reviews. I also felt that steaming the broccoli and onion before was a waste of time so I just added it to the dish when you combined all the ingredients. Broccoli came out cooked perfectly (not mushy). Overall, I will definitely make this dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charmaine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decatur, Georgia, USA
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
I used jasmine rice and bumped it up to 1 1/2 cups (fam. eats lot). My family eats it better than white rice. I had the chicken breast left over and used frozen broccoli as well which really cut down prep time. I gave this recipe 2 stars because the mayo must be a typo. I didn't even use a whole cup. The entire dish tasted like mayo. I have made similar dishes before that called for sour cream and if I made this again that is what I would do. Eating mayo in a casserole was just odd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jon
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
A few years ago I decided to never again eat microwave dinners. However one of my favorite ones was a cheesy chicken broccoli casserole by a certain lady named Marie who's last name shall go unmentioned. Anyways I really wanted to recreate that meal so I found this recipe. Just like the other reviews I made a few changes to suite my tastes. First, I grilled my chicken on my famous boxer grill with salt, garlic powder & pepper. Once cooked I cut it up in small pieces. I'm not a fan of boiled meat. Second I also used frozen broccoli as others have done. Third, I used a box of Near East garlic & herb wild rice (one box) prepared per the directions on the box. lastly, I substituted the mayo for sour cream. Maybe its just me but mayo belongs on turkey sandwiches not in casseroles. I also left out the curry powder. Anyhow it turned out great & tasted better than the microwave dinner I was trying to recreate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jon
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
I followed the directions exactly as written and this was outstanding. And it got better over time, so it made fantastic leftovers. It is a lot of work, but it makes a large amount, so it was worth it to me. I would definitely use an herb and butter flavored rice side dish as directed. It adds a lot of seasoning and flavor to the casserole. Using just white rice might be the reason other reviewers felt there was too much mayonnaise flavor. My family ate it up. But again, I think the key is to make it exactly as written. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
My sister made this tonight for my husband and I. It is the best Cheesey Broccoli Chicken Casserole I have ever had. The flavor was wonderful. My husband and I ate about half of the pan. I had to get this recipe from her and will be making it sometime soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
I made this recipe for my family last night. It was a homerun! Instead of using chicken breast halves I used chicken tenderloins. For the salt free seasoning I used Herbe De Provence and I used Rice a Roni chicken flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
This was really tasty. I made a few changes. I used 2 cups of plain cooked rice in place of the seasoned rice and there was plenty of flavor with the other seasonings. Used a cajun seasoning for the "salt free seasoning blend. Used fresh lemon juice. It takes some time as there are a lot of ingredients but it was worth it. Very rich so I think for us it was a lot more than 8 servings with a side salad to compliment the meal. Took a little longer to cook than 30 minutes. I think I left it in for almost an hour, but until the cheese was darkening and bubbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli Chicken Casserole I

See how to make a creamy baked chicken and broccoli casserole.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Chicken Noodle Casserole I

See how to make a terrific weeknight casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States