Cheesy Brat Stew for the Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
Our family really liked this, and I made it on the stovetop in about 40 mins. I peeled and cubed the potatoes and nuked them for six minutes. While they were cooking, I removed the brats from their casings and browned them with the onions. I, too, used frozen green beans instead of canned and beer instead of water. Since I didn't have a pepper, I added a few dashes of Tabasco -- just enough for zip. Brought it all to a slow bubble before I added the cheese. A yummy, family-friendly Fall supper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
This was very good. I did as others had suggested and used cheddar cheese soup in place of the shredded cheese. I also used a spicy bratwurst, which gave it a lot of flavor. Oh, and I did precook the potatoes a little too make sure they would be done in 3 hours. Will make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
This is the best stew I have eaten in the last 2-3 years. It is easy to make and great tastin
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Falls, Iowa, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
One of our favorite soups for the slow cooker. We follow the recipe exactly and it is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
very good, i used half velveeta and half shredded cheddar, turned out great. also tossed in a small can of corn and small can of carrots, yum. definitely not low fat, but still very good. served with garlic crescent rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
We loved it!!! Yummy Yummy. I used cheddar cheese soup and some velveeta instead of what the recipe called for the cheese part. I also added just a little corn starch to thicken it up just a bit. I put it on high in the crockpot for 3 hours and it was ready. I had no problem with my potatoes, they were done perfectly in 3hrs. I cut them up in small cubes. Thank you for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
Very good! Super easy and budget friendly. We love this one. And so does my wallet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOOKEDONJESUS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
This was a great stew. My husband loves it and that's saying something. I, like a couple other reviewers add the cheese at the end, much better that way. Also I had some mushrooms(canned or fresh) which ever I have and a little curry powder. What good flavor! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tellomillo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
It was a four star recipe until the next day, when the leftovers reheated to be just as good as the day before! I followed the other reviewers in using frozen hashbrowns instead of fresh potatoes (3.5 cups). I put in 1/3 c more water and about a dozen sliced fresh mushrooms, and only added the cheese in the last half hour, but otherwise left the recipe as was. Wonderful! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
My husband and I completely disagree on almost all food. He doesn't like any soups or stews or pot roasts of any kind. Now we agree on one item, this stew!! I thought I would try it on him because it contains two of his favorite items, cheese and brats. I added a little corn and carrots for me because I like veggies. Put it all in the crock pot and forgot about it. I loved it, he loved it and my in laws loved it, I had nothing left. I will be adding this to my weekly list of dinners! Thank you soooo much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States