Cheesy Brat Stew for the Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by K-Dub
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
Pretty good! I left out the bell pepper and used 2 cans of cheddar cheese soup instead of the cream of mushroom per other reviews. It came out cheesy and thick. We use soft french bread to dip into. Next time I think I might try flavored brats, like smoked, to give it more taste. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K-Dub

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
This recipe was awesome! The only change I made was to substitute the dried onion for a small diced fresh onion. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YummyMummy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
We loved it. The kids ate well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
Didn't follow the recipe exactly as I don't like bell peppers and hubby will not eat green beans. The rest of the recipe gives you a great base to make your own soup. We had some onions which I saute in garlic, threw in some carrots and use cheesy brats but you can use whatever you want.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
I will admit like some other reviewers that I varied from the recipe. I added plenty of extra ingredients and made it my own. I am quite thankful for the general idea though and that it gave me a base to be creative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PrncssLee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
Family loved it. I did not have time to make in the slow cooker, so I just made it on my stovetop. I also have no idea how much cheese I really added. I used fresh onion, and sauted with brats and drained grease before adding rest if ingredients. My husband was leary at first, but had thirds. It was a hit, will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cherokee, Texas, USA
Living In: Llano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
just ok as is.....I modified to suite my family's tastes.Utilized left over grilled beer brats from the night before,Used (Imagine Organic brand)Creamy Portobella Mushroom soup (ready to serve),added about a 1/2 cup shredded green cabage, 1 med.red bell pepper, onion, a large clove of garlic, a large potato, and some light cream...omitted cheese and it was wonderful! the smell as it cooked was awesome.Set everyone's mouths to watering long before the meal was ready!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Likly-Welch

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
This turned out Awesome!! I used this recipe more for inspiration. I used the basic ingredients but improvised with what I had on hand. First I substituted cream of mushroom soup with cream of celery soup + 2 cans of water. I used 1/2 a medium yellow onion & sauted a medium red pepper in 3 tbsp. of olive oil. I used baked season french fries cubed instead of regular potatoes. I used Italian Style Green beans & used only 3 grilled bratwurst. Added 1 tbsp. of regular cream cheese, 1/4 cup of italian mix shredded cheese & used only 1 cup of shredded cheddar cheese. I had no problems with the cheese sticking, as my crockpot was on the low setting after the onions were clear. After all ingredients were combined, cook for one hour or until red peppers are soft. Goes great with crusty italian bread & beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
This stew was very easy, and it was very delicious. I doubled the recipe and made a few changes. I used a can of mushroom and a can of cheese. Also, instead of water, I used half dark beer and half beef broth. I substituted carrots for the green beans and used fresh onion. I used red potatoes and left the skin on. Finally, I added a jalapeno. As other reviewers suggested, I added the shredded cheddar at the end. I let it cook on high for about six hours, and it was perfect. Rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
My husband & I really enjoyed this! Being from Wisconsin, we figured we couldn't go wrong with brats & cheese! Haha. I didn't add the red pepper as I didn't have any & I substituted the beans for corn. I rated it 4 stars because I would probably make changes next time; i.e. cut down on the brats used, add a can of cheese soup, use chopped onions & cook on low for a few hours more so the potatoes get a little more done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nicolehall711

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glidden, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Del Rio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States