Cheesy Brat Stew for the Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
This was good quick and simple...I used califlower intead of potatos, frozen green beans and onion powder. I will make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pixiestix

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
this was really good!! I used Potatoes Obrien with a can of mushroom soup and chedder cheese soup. I also mixed in evap milk, paprika, chipotle seasoning, garlic powder. I cooked the sausage a bit with onions, cut up the sausage and placed in the bottom of the crock and poured 1/2 cup of beer, place potatoes on top and then added the other ingredients. I def will make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NorCal*Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
I've made this a few times and it's fantastic. My husband especially loves this on cold days. I have to make sure I cut my potatoes small enough though. If they're too big, they take too long to cook. Thanks for this one! It's a fall/winter staple in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GoGatorWife

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wyoming, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
We thought it was good. With my crock-pot it was done in 4 hours. HOWEVER...I am a bratwurst purist, being from Wisconsin (in Arizona now)the only way to cook JOHNSONVILLE BRATS is to boil them in beer for about 20-25 minutes and then grill them until they are browned and crisp. Contrary to what some people say you do NOT prick them with a toothpick or fork first. I will make this again, but I'll use different sausages.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Allis, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
Requires more cooking time. At least 6 hours on low, 4-5 hours on high. I left the skins on the potatoes. Giving it four stars, because it is pretty bland. Add some spice if you are making it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
This was a great way to use up leftover brats. I didn't think there was enough moisture in the crock to make a stew, but the end result was what I thought was a perfect consistancy. I think the potatoes need longer/hotter cooking time: I gave it three and a half hours on high and thought they still needed some more. I also substituted cream of cheese for the mushroom soup and a can of beer for the water: being a native, it just seemed like the right thing to do and I really loved the extra-cheesy beer goodness. My boyfriend did find the flavors a little bland, though: red pepper flakes next time will probably do the trick. Thanks very much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M. Stoffel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allenton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Germantown, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
I thought this was just ok. I probably wouldn't make it again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buffy S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Geneva, Illinois, USA
Living In: Batavia, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
Very good soup for a chilly fall day. I made some minor tweeks and was very pleased with the outcome: Browned and almost fully cooked bratwurst then sliced; browned about 1/4-1/2 cup each chopped onion, celery, and carrots in 2 tbsp. butter, then added the mushroom soup, one can chix broth, and about one cup milk. Added my very small-ly cubed potatoes and bratwurst; then added some pasturized processed cheese slices and some real cheddar. Boiled all for about one hour (didn't use crock pot). Turned out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
This was excellent. I did make a few minor variations. I used par boiled potatoes, and added a few more veggies. Very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lord Burghley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
This is great football food! We have made it several times and guests always rave over it. I tend to boil the potatoes until they are half done instead. Otherwise it takes nearly 6 hours in the crockpot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 168) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States