Cheesy Brat Stew for the Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
I have not made this yet but I can tell from reading it that it will be delicious. I would, however, substitute Progresso Cream of Mushroom soup for the condensed soup and water. I've done this with green bean casserole and the difference in flavor was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
This is my husband's new favorite food. The only thing I've had difficulty with is the green beans--no matter how much I stir, they always sink to the bottom of the crock pot and stick to the sides. Next time I'll add them at the end or omit them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
way too salty, meaty and not cheesy enough for me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
This was a GREAT starter recipe. I read the reviews first and took some of the tips. I used Velveeta in the last 30 minutes in place of the shredded cheddar. Also used one can of cream of mushroom and one can of cheddar cheese soup. I cooked the brats ahead of time and par boiled the potatoes before adding them. It was thick and YUMMY!!!! I'll be making this one again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
This was good quick and simple...I used califlower intead of potatos, frozen green beans and onion powder. I will make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pixiestix

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
this was really good!! I used Potatoes Obrien with a can of mushroom soup and chedder cheese soup. I also mixed in evap milk, paprika, chipotle seasoning, garlic powder. I cooked the sausage a bit with onions, cut up the sausage and placed in the bottom of the crock and poured 1/2 cup of beer, place potatoes on top and then added the other ingredients. I def will make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NorCal*Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
I've made this a few times and it's fantastic. My husband especially loves this on cold days. I have to make sure I cut my potatoes small enough though. If they're too big, they take too long to cook. Thanks for this one! It's a fall/winter staple in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GoGatorWife

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wyoming, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
We thought it was good. With my crock-pot it was done in 4 hours. HOWEVER...I am a bratwurst purist, being from Wisconsin (in Arizona now)the only way to cook JOHNSONVILLE BRATS is to boil them in beer for about 20-25 minutes and then grill them until they are browned and crisp. Contrary to what some people say you do NOT prick them with a toothpick or fork first. I will make this again, but I'll use different sausages.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Allis, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
Requires more cooking time. At least 6 hours on low, 4-5 hours on high. I left the skins on the potatoes. Giving it four stars, because it is pretty bland. Add some spice if you are making it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
This was a great way to use up leftover brats. I didn't think there was enough moisture in the crock to make a stew, but the end result was what I thought was a perfect consistancy. I think the potatoes need longer/hotter cooking time: I gave it three and a half hours on high and thought they still needed some more. I also substituted cream of cheese for the mushroom soup and a can of beer for the water: being a native, it just seemed like the right thing to do and I really loved the extra-cheesy beer goodness. My boyfriend did find the flavors a little bland, though: red pepper flakes next time will probably do the trick. Thanks very much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M. Stoffel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allenton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Germantown, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States