Cheesy Brat Stew for the Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
This was very good ... next time I will double the amount of Brats as we own out very quickly. My father devoured it and luckily I had some smoked brats in the fridge that I added since everyone wanted 2nds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
I have not made this yet but I can tell from reading it that it will be delicious. I would, however, substitute Progresso Cream of Mushroom soup for the condensed soup and water. I've done this with green bean casserole and the difference in flavor was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
This is my husband's new favorite food. The only thing I've had difficulty with is the green beans--no matter how much I stir, they always sink to the bottom of the crock pot and stick to the sides. Next time I'll add them at the end or omit them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
way too salty, meaty and not cheesy enough for me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
This was a GREAT starter recipe. I read the reviews first and took some of the tips. I used Velveeta in the last 30 minutes in place of the shredded cheddar. Also used one can of cream of mushroom and one can of cheddar cheese soup. I cooked the brats ahead of time and par boiled the potatoes before adding them. It was thick and YUMMY!!!! I'll be making this one again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
This was good quick and simple...I used califlower intead of potatos, frozen green beans and onion powder. I will make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pixiestix

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
this was really good!! I used Potatoes Obrien with a can of mushroom soup and chedder cheese soup. I also mixed in evap milk, paprika, chipotle seasoning, garlic powder. I cooked the sausage a bit with onions, cut up the sausage and placed in the bottom of the crock and poured 1/2 cup of beer, place potatoes on top and then added the other ingredients. I def will make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NorCal*Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
I've made this a few times and it's fantastic. My husband especially loves this on cold days. I have to make sure I cut my potatoes small enough though. If they're too big, they take too long to cook. Thanks for this one! It's a fall/winter staple in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GoGatorWife

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wyoming, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
We thought it was good. With my crock-pot it was done in 4 hours. HOWEVER...I am a bratwurst purist, being from Wisconsin (in Arizona now)the only way to cook JOHNSONVILLE BRATS is to boil them in beer for about 20-25 minutes and then grill them until they are browned and crisp. Contrary to what some people say you do NOT prick them with a toothpick or fork first. I will make this again, but I'll use different sausages.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Allis, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
Requires more cooking time. At least 6 hours on low, 4-5 hours on high. I left the skins on the potatoes. Giving it four stars, because it is pretty bland. Add some spice if you are making it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States