Cheesy Brat Stew for the Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
This soup is surprisingly good. My husband and daughters loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
THIS WAS JUST OKAY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Tonawanda, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RAPTORSHARK
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
This came out awesome! I have a fairly small slow cooker and I filled it to the very top. My mom makes a noncheese stew very similar to this, but she uses sausage not brats so I did the same because I know it tastes good._____________I used 28oz of Johnsonville smoked sausage, 3 potatoes, fresh green beans, a little bit of chopped bell pepper, almost 2 cups of shredded cheddar, 2 cans cream of mushroom soup, 2 cans cheddar soup, 1 packet onion soup mix, and some garlic powder.___________I mixed the soups/cheese/spice in a bowl, then I alternated pouring it and the meat/veg into the cooker just so everything would fit. Cooked overnight ~10hrs on low, then switched it to warm mode till dinner. I was worried it would be too cheesy, but I think it came out great. It was nice and thick, I didn't use any water. Will def make again thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAPTORSHARK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
I used fresh onions and corn instead of green beans. My family said it was good and we ate it all, but they did not rave about it, so I only gave it 4 stars. This is an easy way to use leftover brats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
AWESOME!! I hate green beans, but included them anyways...and I loved this stew! Husband wants this to be a winter staple! Only thing I did different is I used Chicken stock instead of water...and only because I had some. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
I used Johnsonville Beer Brats, chicken stock for water, frozen green beans instead of canned, and left out the red pepper. Per other reviewers' recommendations, I also added a can of cheddar cheese soup, and added the shredded cheddar in the last 30 minutes of cooking. Cooked on low for more like 9 hours, while I was at work. My daughter (who is not a bratwurst fan) found it acceptable, and the SO said I could make it three times a week and he'd be happy. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
well, i took this doubled the recipe and put my turkey sausage with bratwurst and doubled the green beans..added roasted red peppers... along with 2 cans cream of mushroom soup used redskin potatos...and added a tbls of cajun seasoning for a subtle bite...and thickened it at the end in the slo cooker with half cup flour and water.......added a pinch of ground asiago cheese at the finish........................DELICIOUS !!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jester

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
We loved this--served for a party. We used ground venison brat sausage and it was so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
did it on the stove, cook potatoes in chicken broth (not water) then added the rest. Rinse canned green beans to reduce saltiness. used red skin potatoes, didn't peel. added cheese last 20 min. Cooked for 45-50 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marty Rupp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
I loved this. It was really hearty and flavorful. Yes, it feels like you have a brick in your stomach if you eat too much, but this is comfort food, don't expect to feel like you ate a celery stick. =) I added a whole sautéed onion and 2 garlic cloves. I also had to add more than 2/3 cup water because it was a little to thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States