Cheesy Brat Stew for the Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2005
Great hearty soup recipe. I would suggest precooking the potatoes before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2005
This was easy to make and very tasty but it was incredibly rich. My boyfriend and I could only eat a little bit. The next day when I warmed it I added more water and a can of evaporated milk to cut down on the thickness and that helped a lot. I will make this again but I will remember to thin it a bit. EDIT: I made this again with quite a few changes and it was delicious. I browned the potatoes, kielbasa, half a chopped onion, a green pepper and a teaspoon of minced garlic before throwing everything in the crockpot. I added enough homemade chicken stock to cover and cooked on high for 3 hours or until the potatoes were tender. When the potatoes were done, I made a basic cheese sauce with butter, flour, milk, broth from the crockpot and lots of cheese which was added to the soup. I seasoned to taste with lots of black pepper and the result was a non greasy, delicious stew that had plenty of rich, thick broth. Forget the canned soups and you won't be sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2005
This was very good! Next time I will use cheddar chees soup instead of the cream of mushroom. It could be cheesier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelly Van Kirk Moran

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Logan, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Bellbrook, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2004
This was really good. I just changed a few things to suit our tastes. I used fresh onion, that I chopped and sauteed in a little bit of beer. Then I just used a small jar of roasted red bell peppers, since I didnt have fresh. And left out the green beans, just didnt seeem important to me. Didnt have cream of mushroom, so I used cream of chicken instead. But would also try it with cheddar cheese soup. It was a little greasy, so I just skimmed it. Maybe using velveeta instead will help. Also replaced the water with beer, and just used the whole can, because I felt it need more sauce. I did need more than 3 hours to get the potatoes soft, but that was fine, 3 hours for a crock pot meal is pretty short. We had ours in sourdough bread bowls, with a cold beer, GREAT combination, and watched Ohio state beat Oklahoma! It was a great football meal. I will make this for superbowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BZBMOMOF3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, California, USA
Living In: Temecula, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2004
This was a gender-specific stew: the men loved it, the women hated it. I cooked the brats first in beer, & should have listened to another's advice & cooked the potatoes first. They were NOT done! Probably won't make this again unless the guys ask for their own batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2004
Wow, this was even better than I expected, and I already thought it would be good! We did boil the brats in beer before putting them in the crock pot. I also boiled the potatoes just a bit. We then added 1/2 a can of beer to the crock pot. Cooked for about 4 1/2 hours and it was perfect - very, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2004
Good concept overall. I like the whole flavoring, but I wish it had a kick of some sorts. Definitely a repeat recipe, however. I recommend boiling the sliced brats in beer until evaporated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2004
This is a wonderful recipe. My husband and 2 year old loved it. It makes wonderful leftovers too. It is so nice to come home to dinner ready to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zelienople, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2004
This was a great soup! I exchanged the cream of mushroom soup for Campbell's new Spicy Jack. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2004
Awesome! I used pre-cooked brats, so no need to brown them. I also used 2 cans of soup and added some garlic. I do agree with other posts that 3 hours is NOT long enough - I did 5 hours on high and it worked out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christi Fredrick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States