Cheesy Brat Stew for the Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2005
This was OK. If I make this again, I will sub in beer for the water as one reviewer suggested. It needed more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2005
My husband and son RELLY liked this. I used beer brats, and replaced the water with beer. (ny husband likes beer) I actually used probably a whole beer, adding while it cooked. I will make it again, but probably use velveeta so it's not a oily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by makuplver

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Dardenne Prairie, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2005
We thought this recipe was dee lish. We are having a fish fry this coming up weekend at the lake and I am going to bring this dish for everyone to try. I am sure it will be the hit of the party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2005
OK...I admit that I did not make the recipe just as described, but what I made was reviewed by my husband as "the best soup you've ever made." Very high praise indeed!! I browned fresh onions (instead of dried) and peppers first, then added the potatoes to brown as well. To make things even easier on myself, I used half a sack of those frozen cut up potatoes that are meant to be for hash browns. Then, instead of the brats, I used two packages of sliced Hilshire Farms smoked sausages (they are already cooked, so that speeds up the time). The rest was cooked as indicated. EXCELLENT FLAVOR!!! I will definitely be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2005
My husband enjoyed this, I didn't care for it at all. I par boiled the potatoes and they got really mushy. Next time, if my husband asks me to make it again, I won't par boil the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2005
We loved this! The only changes I made were that I left out the red peppers (didn't have any, or I surely would have added them), and I used new (red) potatoes and left the skins on - yum! I didn't read the other reviews before making this, or I might have used the cheese soup, too (probably in addition to the cream of mushroom, because I was wishing there was more sauce/liquid!). I didn't precook the potatoes as some other reviewers suggested, but I did set my crock pot on low and cooked for 6-7 hours. It came out great - we will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THELBERG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairmont, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Prescott, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2005
wonderful recipe! Recommend pre boiling potato's for about 15min. and cook on med in about 3 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Plainfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2005
Just the thought of this recipe makes my mouth water....if you are thinking of making it do it! It was wonderful and is added to my all time favorite recipe collection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENN A.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bemidji, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2005
The brats were good (bc they're brats!) and the potatoes were okay (I did boil them first), but the rest of the stew was only so-so. My husband (who is from the midwest, and maybe that matters) rated it a four, but I probably won't be making this again. If I want brats, I may just stick to having them on buns!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2005
I was all set to make this and then -BAM- I didn't have all the ingredients. So this is how I made it: I only used 1-1/2 potatoes I used 115 grams of Velveeta no red pepper, although that is a shame (mine had to be tossed) Campbell's Pepper Jack soup fresh onion 1 can of corn (I didn't have gr. beans - thought I did) instead of bratwursts, I used Bratos (pork & tofu) This is fabulous - really, really good. I browned the Bratos in a skillet and then put them in a saucepan (did I mention I didn't use a crock pot). Then I put the water in the hot skillet to get the browned bits from the brats. Honestly, it was by and large the same recipe! Very flexible. I served it with Irish soda bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States