Cheesy Brat Stew for the Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2007
although i would recommend pre-cooking the potatoes, one of the better crockpot recipes!!! great tasting!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2007
My husband and I really enjoy this. I like to use brats that we grilled the day before, because it gives the stew a wonderful smoky flavor. For those users who complain that it's too greasy: Do not stir in cheese until the end of cooking. I usually add it in the last 30 minutes and turn the crockpot to high. You can also use half cheddar and half american cheese (which melts and incorporates better). That way, the cheddar flavor comes out, but the stew is rich and creamy. Hope these suggestions help!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aggiesgirl1945

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
I wasn't sure what to expect with all the differing reviews. We enjoyed this, it was a bit like comfort food on a cold winter night. My "tweaks" were chicken stock in place of water (only because I had a container opened already) and I added one can of cheddar cheese soup since some reviewers said there was not enough liquid. Our stew was a touch soupy, but I prepared for that with a large hunk of crusty bread to soak up the sauce! Please keep in mind that even after 4 hours on High, the potatoes were still a touch hard, but not enough to stop us from eating dinner then. It was nice to find a recipe for bratwurst that was different, yet tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOALAGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
Very good. I suggest cutting the brats into small cubes instead of slices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moberly, Missouri, USA
Living In: Sullivan, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
AWESOME!! I NEVER have to worry about there being left overs! My family LOVES this recipie. It is also a great dish to take to a soup potluck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
My family and I love this recipe! I did make a few changes...I used smaked sausages instead of brats, velveta instead of cheddar, a half bag of frozen corn and two extra potatoes. I will make this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chowchick

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Linton, Indiana, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
This didn't quite turn out the way I had envisioned it in my head when I printed out the recipe. I thought it was going to be thick and cheesy, and it actually turned out kind of thin, and the cheese separated into little globs instead of just melting into the stew. I think I'll make it again, but I'll follow the suggestions in other reviews and use Velveeta instead of cheddar. Other than the fact that I had assumed it would look different, this one was pretty good. A little playing and tweaking and it could become "a regular."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2006
Wow! Everyone loved this with only minor modifications. Sorry -- it's a bad habit of mine to tweak things as I make them. I didn't add the cheese until the end of cooking time and I probably used 3/4 cup. shredded sharp cheddar. I cooked the bratwurst, sliced them, and put them in the crockpot with diced onion, some chopped frozen tri-color peppers slices, fresh garlic, the green beans, a can of chicken mushroom soup, and the potatoes. As it was cooking, I was afraid that it looked a little bland so I added fresh baby carrots. My son tasted it and said it tasted good, but I knew I needed to do something about the seasoning. I added about 1/2 jar of banana pepper rings and that seemed to do it. My husband loved it and said I could probably add even more veggies. Served it with bread from my bread machine and it was a hit. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warwick, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
This is good for Monday Night Football.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2006
Was excited to use this as a new way to use leftover already-grilled brats, so I didn't have the grease issue - however, it was VERY thin, even after I added quite a bit of Velveeta - more like a soup than a stew. Used beer instead of water, but it still needed some oomph, so I drained some tomatoes and chilies and added those. That helped quite a bit. Husband and I did a no-no and mixed starches - served this over rice, and it wasn't too bad, but I doubt I'll make it again. Would rather just warm up the brats and make some cheese fries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States