Cheesy Brat Stew for the Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
This was very good, everyone liked it. I also waited until before serving to put in the cheese and I used 1/2 cheddar and 1/2 velveeta. I substituted the green beans for corn only because everyone likes corn at my house. I used red baby potatoes and didn't have a problem with them being done when we were ready to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISAMARRIE14

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sheldon, Iowa, USA
Living In: Hull, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
This is a great basic recipe. Like others, I made some modifications. I used 1/2 bag of frozen hash browns and omitted the red pepper (doesn't fly with the kiddie). From experience I didn't want cheese lumps, so I didn't use shredded cheddar cheese and instead used one can of Campbell's cheddar cheese soup. I also substituted 'reduced sodium' cream of chicken soup to cut back on the salt. Also, if your soup isn't thick enough, try adding instant mashed potato flakes a bit at a time to thicken it up. This soup with the modifications is such a hit in our house that I make it every other week. It's pretty frugal too since you can buy the brats in bulk or on sale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
My husband LOVES this. I've made it a couple of times now, at his request. He rarely asks for anything, so he must really like this! I rated in four stars only because I changed so many elements - and there is no 4.5 rating :-). After reading the other reviews, I used sliced Velveeta, boiled the potatoes before peeling them, and cooked the stew in a pot on my stove. This last time, I did not have enough brats, so I used half brats and half mild Italian sausage. I took them out of their cases, chopped them up and precooked them. I did not have a pepper, so I skipped it. I chopped some onion and added it (instead of minced dried onion) to give the stew texture. Simmered all for an hour and voila. (I forgot to wait to add the cheese, but even that turned out fine, thanks to the magic of whatever Velveeta really is :-). )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinginColorado

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sedalia, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
This did not turn out like a stew at all. I followed recipe exactly except for the fact I turned my crock pot on high, and even after 4 1/2 hours the potatoes were still a little crunchy. The consistency was thin and very greasy from the brats. I won't cook this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
It was actually really good. I stated making it before I read the reviews, then I started tweaking with it. I used (instead of regular brats) Cheese flavored ones. I realized that I didn't any cans of green beans, so I used a bag of frozen one. I didn't have any red bell peppers, so I just substituted a green one, and I also added a pound of Velveeta and it seemed to thicken it up alot more than I thought it would.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by macpatient

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Ottumwa, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2007
I thought this was awesome! I made it on the stovetop instead of crock pot - as per other reviewer's suggestions, I boiled the potatoes about 10 minutes (until they were mostly cooked, but not entirely) while browning the sliced brat. I drained the potatoes and threw them and everything else in the pot, plus a can of corn and a sprinkle of garlic & thyme, let it simmer over medium-low for about 10 minutes, then stirred in 12 oz of cubed Velveeta and simmered again until it all melted. Dee-licious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Solon, Iowa, USA
Living In: Camp Lejeune, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2007
although i would recommend pre-cooking the potatoes, one of the better crockpot recipes!!! great tasting!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2007
My husband and I really enjoy this. I like to use brats that we grilled the day before, because it gives the stew a wonderful smoky flavor. For those users who complain that it's too greasy: Do not stir in cheese until the end of cooking. I usually add it in the last 30 minutes and turn the crockpot to high. You can also use half cheddar and half american cheese (which melts and incorporates better). That way, the cheddar flavor comes out, but the stew is rich and creamy. Hope these suggestions help!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aggiesgirl1945

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
I wasn't sure what to expect with all the differing reviews. We enjoyed this, it was a bit like comfort food on a cold winter night. My "tweaks" were chicken stock in place of water (only because I had a container opened already) and I added one can of cheddar cheese soup since some reviewers said there was not enough liquid. Our stew was a touch soupy, but I prepared for that with a large hunk of crusty bread to soak up the sauce! Please keep in mind that even after 4 hours on High, the potatoes were still a touch hard, but not enough to stop us from eating dinner then. It was nice to find a recipe for bratwurst that was different, yet tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOALAGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Malvern, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States