Cheesy Brat Stew for the Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
This recipe was really good. I did make some changes but not because I thought the recipe wasn't solid but because of our personal likes. Here is what I did differently. I added 1 can each of cream of celery soup, cream of potato soup and cheddar cheese soup. I used one package of beef stock. I sprinkled in some garlic powder and rosemary to taste. I added some broccoli and cauliflower and left out green beans. I browned all veggies/lightly cooked all veggies before putting all together to help with cook time. I did cook it in a regular pot rather than the crock and that was a mistake. It was definitely better the second day and I think that's because it missed out on the blending that happens while cooking slowly together. Crock pot it will be next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
I loved the idea of this. Left out the bell pepper and subbed cheddar cheese soup for the mushroom soup. Cooked this on low in my Dutch oven on the stove. Added a little extra cheddar cheese at the end. Overall very good and filling. The green beans should not be left out, they really add to this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
This is a great meal! I will say that it takes longer than 3 hours to cook potatoes in the crock pot. Learned that the first time I made this. Second time, I just cooked on the lowest setting (10 hr) and everything was great. If you didn't want it to cook all day, you could probably boil the potatoes for a few minutes first. I also use 2 cans of the soup because just one can plus the water weren't enough. Also, I doubled the bratwursts to 12 because I buy the pre-cooked ones and 6 just isn't enough. Overall a great cheesy meal especially on cold days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Point, Ohio, USA
Living In: Bellefontaine, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
This is really good. I greatly enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
Needs more flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
This was an interesting recipe. My husband liked it the most. I cooked mine in the slow cooker on high and the potatoes were still hard. I am not sure what the deal was but oh well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bleedingheartnan13
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
Next time I would cook all, but the brats for a couple of hours and then put in the brats for the last hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
I made this for a family "soup-a-thon" and everyone raved!! I doubled the recipe and cooked the onions with the brats! I think I may try this with shrimp and instead of cream of mushroom (which I used less fat and no one knew the difference), use cream of shrimp.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
Super easy, good dinner on a cold night
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
I loved this. Kids did too. Cooking time on low 6-7 hours. Use one can cream of mushroom and one can cheese soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States