Cheesy Beef and Bean Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2000
I was really pleased with this recipe. It was fast to make and delicious. I served it with a green salad and buttered toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
I have to be honest here...when I looked at the ingredients all I could think of was "yuk." BUT, I read the great reviews and needed something relatively quick for dinner, so I tried it. I apologize for anything 'bad' I ever thought about this! It's really, really good! You can't tell there are beans in it (for those of you who, like me, who "yukked" at that part) and my husband, who's a little picky but a good sport about 'new recipes' loved it, too. (He went back for 3rds that night and took the rest for lunch the next day!). It's very filling, too. The only changes were that I made my own mashed (garden) potatoes, used the canned sloppy joe sauce instead of the tomato sauce and, being a vegetarian, I used the veggie version of the ground beef. I will make this again, for sure - no "yuks" this time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2007
I thought this was very good. I took some of the other advice, and added garlic, and a can of corn. I used two packages of mashed potatoes. Filled the 13 X 9 perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2005
YUM YUM YUM!!! I have so many good things to say I don't know where to start. The only thing I did different was to saute the onion with my ground beef and I added garlic powder and a lot of Lawry's seasoned pepper. It was just great! My 3 children are the true judges and they cleaned their plates. It's not often I can get them to eat a "mixed-up" dish!! What I liked best was that I had all the ingredients on hand. Super easy and super good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABYPHAT55

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
YUMMY! This recipe definatly needs something extra to give it flavor. We added BBQ sauce and it made it fabulous! I think that Ranch style beans would be good as well, maybe chili powder. We also added corn and didnt bake it, just piled it up on our plates.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2002
This recipe was great. I used ketchup instead of the tomato sauce because I didn't have the tomoato sauce and it was very tasty. My husband and I both loved it. It is the perfect hot and satisfying all-in-one meal! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
I've made this twice and both times it's boiled over in the oven. Take it easy on the meat and tomato sauce and leave plenty of room for potato and cheese toppings. I've made this as a mexican-style dish as well, substituting refried beans for the beans, mexican rice for the potatoes, salsa for the tomato sauce, and adding chilies and taco seasoning to the meat. It's good, give it a shot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2007
We loved it! Great for nights when you want to make something easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
Like most others, I was unsure of how this dish would be received. I have kids ranging in age from 10 to 18. They all loved it. I did make a couple changes. I used sloppy joe sauce instead of tomato sauce. I also lined the bottom of the pan with flattened crescent rolls. So, it was almost like an open pot pie. Everyone loved it!! A word of caution: the rolls rise quite a bit, so i may try a pizza dough next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. D. D.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
This dish is a great base and has so much potential, but alone, I felt it was too bland for our tastes. After sampling the meat mixture, I needed to add a lot of seasonings and then decided to throw in some Mexican spices. With that, it tasted really great, but I then added mushrooms and peppers only because I needed to get rid of them. Definitely try this guys and add your own touch if you feel it's needed. Thank you Maggie for a great start!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Beef Wellington

Make the classic filet mignon and mushroom dish named after Duke Wellington.

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Beef Medallions with Caramelized Pan Sauce

An elegant beef tenderloin dish that’s surprisingly quick and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States