Cheesy Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2015
I decided to take the suggested advice of cutting the onion in half and adding two cloves of garlic. Also, I prefer black beans to kidney beans and used these instead. This was a huge hit, which surprised me because this seemed to be more like a side dish but was quite filling. It was very filling and absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
I thought this was a great recipe and will make it again! Next time cut down on chili powder...was too much for the kids. 1 tsp would be plenty I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahMc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Teutopolis, Illinois, USA
Living In: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
We enjoyed this but felt that something was missing. Next time I will add plenty of cumin and bit of minced garlic when sauteing the onion. Also I didn't layer as the recipe states, to keep it simple we just did rice, beans, cheese, done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mam5016

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Millersburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
This was pretty good. I had to shred some monterey jack cheese, as my cheddar had gone bad, and I added taco sauce and sliced jarred jalapenos. M liked it, and I thought it was okay. I'd play around with the spices next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
easy & excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Betterton, Maryland, USA
Living In: Chestertown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
Tasty! Used 3 fresh tomatoes and a can of green chile, and 2 cooked bags of boil-in-bag brown rice. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
I made this for dinner tonight. It was delicious! I did add one can of black beans and one green pepper. Thanks for the great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
Eh... It was okay...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
Fantastic! For 12 servings I used a 16oz jar of mild salsa instead of 2 14.5 cans of diced tomatoes with green chilis and I added 2 tbsp garlic powder to the bean and rice mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Ledesma

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
My whole family loved this, right down to the 2 yr old! All of my little boys asked for seconds even, and before they were even done eating they told me that I needed to make it again for dinner "tomorrow" night :) I used a 14.4 ounce can of plain diced tomatoes and then added a 114ml tin of mild diced green chilies instead of the diced tomatoes with green chilies (in the same can). These ingredients have become staples now in our house! YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States