Cheesy Baked Salmon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Night Owl
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
Very flavorful rendition for a salmon bake. Only alteration I would recommend would be to replacing cheddar with an italian or white cheese of some type. It will suit the salmon and onion flavors much better. . . It is also good when placing a row of asparagus spears lining underneath the fish when baked. It soaks in the juices and spices and providing a complimentary side vegetable. . .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
153 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Night Owl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Duvall, Washington, USA
Living In: Woodinville, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2007
I thought that using Cheddar sounded sort of gross on salmon, so I chose to not use the Cheddar or the onion and instead I substituted in Chèvre cheese (soft goat cheese) and mixed it with chopped walnuts, dill and 1 tsp. garlic. When you place the salmon back into the oven the cheese and nuts will brown slightly, but not melt. I think that the Chèvre and walnuts complements the flavor of the fish much better than the cheddar. I used a 1:1 ratio of walnuts and Chèvre. I have made this recipe many times and it is my husband's and my absolute favorite, plus the walnuts add even more healthy omega-3 !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
Very flavorful, and a new way to bake Salmon, for me. I edited the recipe a little based on personal taste and others reviews. I changed the cheddar cheese to a baby swiss, added 4 finely chopped garlic cloves, less dill, and lightly drizzled olive oil beneath the cheese to keep the Salmon moist. The flavor was very complimentary! We laid asparagus spears on the bottom of the foil, and they were cooked to perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2006
I couldn't find a 'baked' salmon recipe anywhere and to think to put cheese on it also was delicious! I used paprika instead of dill weed because I didn't have any but it was still a wonderful and easy dish! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
I also baked it on top of asparagus. I sprinkled mine with some dry parmesan spread mix and a couple pats of butter. I then eliminated the cheese on top. Superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LORI Q

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baker, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
Mmmmmm, good! My husband is not a fan of salmon, but he liked this and would like it more often, so that's saying a lot! Kids liked it, too! I did a few things different, but not much. I didn't have green onions on hand and I used Mexican shredded cheese on top (we always have that in the house, so it's what I use). Served with steamed califlower and diced baked red potatoes. Yummy, can't wait to have it again! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2006
I just recently started experimenting with salmon recipes, and it probably will not become one of my favorite foods... but.. this recipe is a very good one! It was really very nice, and I do recommend adding extra cheese. For those of you who love salmon, you'll love this recipe. I liked it, even tho salamon isn't my dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
I usually grill or broil the salmon and really wanted to try something different. I must say, this was delicious, and I would certainly make it again for our guests. The combination of the cheddar cheese with the green onions was not as overpowering as I thought it would be. And baking the fish in foil made it tender and flaky. Very different than what I am accustomed to when it's grilled. It melted in my mouth and was just what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altoona, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LISAMARIE10
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
Made this with rice...YUMMY! Never thought to add cheddar to salmon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
I made this just like the recipe. The cheese and salmon seemed to cancel each other out. It didn't taste bad, just kind of bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Dijon Salmon

A simple and delicious way to make fresh flavorful salmon in the oven.

Baked Salmon II

See a straightforward, 5-star recipe for making baked salmon.

Baked Salmon Dijon

This recipe is simple enough for busy weeknights, elegant enough for parties.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States