Cheesy Baked Grits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2004
I really love this recipe. I moved to the South a few years ago and have been looking for a good recipe like the cheese grits they serve at some restaurants here. The only change I made was stirring in 2 eggs before cooking. My family just loves this recipe - great comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELFINDANCER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
These were pretty good. I used two eggs as suggested (it definately needs them) but other than that, made the recipe as is. I will definately make these again but next time I think I will divide the parmesan, mixing half of it in with the cheddar cheese and using the other half to sprinkle on top. I thought the cheese on top was much too thick. Overall, a great dish! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2006
Interesting and yummy. These weren't runny like grits I've had before (let me freely admit now that I've only rarely had grits; I have no idea how they're "supposed to" be). I can see why the previous reviewer added eggs and I think that'd be a good addition, but it turned out fine without. I served these with breakfast foods, but I think this would also be good for dinner with pork or chicken or even on the side with chili instead of corn bread. I also think this recipe would be good with some hot peppers or hot sauce added to spice it up. Thanks for the recipe, you've convinced this yankee to make grits again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cardamum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
Excellent sidedish casserole! I added 2 eggs and a big dollop of reduced fat sour cream. It cooked in about 35 minutes. Even the kids liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANASTASIAJANE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2006
These are good, but I have had better baked grits recipes so I didn't give them five starts. I reduced to 4 servings and baked in a 8 inch loaf pan. I also used fat free milk and 50% low fat cheese, I forgot the parmesan. The grits do have a firmer texture than they normally would and they were great where the outside and top got crispy. My 4 yo who loves cheese grits wouldn't eat them though because she didn't like the crunchy parts (where I thought they were best). My husband refuses to even try grits. He took a bit of these and said, he would eat them again. However, he still ate a baked potato for dinner rather than the grits. I will probably continue to look for another recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
These are trouble (in a good way). I liked that I could make them ahead, and that they were easy to assemble. They were a welcome alternative to mashed potatoes. Tonight I served them with braised oxtails. The only change I made was to omit that final 1/3 cup butter at the end....the first 1/2 cup already felt like pushing the envelope butter-wise (I did use whole milk, though).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by squawk93

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Good recipie! My mom makes baked grits every year for Christmas morning / brunch ( I think because she can bake them the nite before, and then just heat them up). This recipie is very close to hers. I def think it needs at least one egg. The Parm Cheese is a nice touch, but I prefer cheesier - so I added extra cheddar. My kids LOVE baked grits. Happy cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
This was my first attempt at making grits, and for the longest time I haven't known what they are -bear in mind I am from Canada's East Coast-. We didn't have fresh parmesan on hand, so I improvised and used grated asiago, and ended up cooking this in a casserole dish. Still tasty even with the alterations, thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
These are a little more time-consuming than regular grits, but worth it. The cheeses, especially the parmesan were a nice addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
I will never again make grits using milk. Didn't like the taste of the grits. Prefer using water or chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Shrimp and Grits

See how to make some classic Southern comfort food.

Best Baked Fries

See how to make crispy, crunchy, healthier French fries.

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States