Cheesy Baked Grits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
Really liked this as a side dish for dinner. Didn't have the parmesean, but had an Italian blend for pizza, which I substituted on top. That crunchy cheese layer on top added a lot of flavor. I think this really needs to cool off quite a bit in order to taste the cheese flavor of the grits, so I recommend cooling for a good 15 minutes before serving. I will definitely be making this again and maybe adding chopped bacon and scallions next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
I scaled this recipe down to about three servings. I think this makes it firm up more, because there's no need for an egg. The only thing I would do different is reduce the amount of parmesan, and put some extra cheddar on top. Maybe it's because I didn't have fresh parmesan, only the kind that comes in the plastic bottle. Anyway, this deserves bonus points because it's so easy and inexpensive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
I'm giving this 4 stars because I might make it again if I'm looking for something a little different, but this recipe wasn't a big hit. It did get eaten, but no real "yummy" comments. It seemed really dry to me, so next time I might add a little more milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
Absolutely Delicious! They are officially a Thanksgiving tradition now... everyone loved them! And a plus for being SO easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melzee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Watsonville, California, USA
Living In: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
This is delicious. I followed others advice and used an egg (haven't tried the recipe without it). I also use smoked cheddar. My husband and friends love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
I've made these multiple times now. My boys love them as an alternative side dish to mashed potatoes or rice. They don't like the cheese melted on top, so I incorporate it into the grits before baking. Even then, they are inclined to scrape the little bit of "crust" that develops anyway. The cheesy layer tastes good to me, but for whatever reason, they both have an aversion to it. This is a great and versatile recipe. You can try different cheeses and experiment with different spices or flavorings. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
YUM!! These are awesome! To reduce fat I omitted the first round of butter and only added about half of the second. I also wonder if it couldn't partially be made with chicken stock to reduce fat. Added 1 egg (I scaled recipe to 9) and mixed some of the parmesan into the cheddar as well. Serving with Grilled sausages and brocolli. Will update when I make with chicken stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dearborn, Michigan, USA
Living In: Northville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
Excellent sidedish casserole! I added 2 eggs and a big dollop of reduced fat sour cream. It cooked in about 35 minutes. Even the kids liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANASTASIAJANE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
These are awesome! I didn't make any changes and they turned out yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2007
loved it! I also added 2 eggs like a previous reviewer mentioned. grits couldn't get any better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Shrimp and Grits

See how to make some classic Southern comfort food.

Best Baked Fries

See how to make crispy, crunchy, healthier French fries.

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States