Cheesy Baked Grits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
100 STARS! These are definitely the BEST grits I've ever had, and I credit that to cooking them in milk. I can't believe in all the years I've been making grits, I've never cooked them in milk. Dee-lish and makes such a difference!! I had to substitute American for the Cheddar (all I had on hand) and mixed the Parmesean in since others said it got crusty on top. This is now my only way to prepare grits, and I WILL have Cheddar on hand next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
This casserole was GREAT! I've been searching for a grits casserole that isn't runny and think I have found my "keeper." I doubled the recipe and followed exactly, only substituting asiago for the parmesan. It fed 17 college students with only a spoonful left. They all gave it rave reviews! I noticed several reviews recommended adding eggs - I didn't find this necessary. The grits were firm and had a perfect consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
I am from the south and have never developed a taste for grits. My Yankee husband, however, is enamored with southern cuisine. I made these just for him, and now this is one of my favorite recipes. I absoultely loved this. The flavors are rich and the texture is perfect. They went great with crabcakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
Next time I'd cut the butter down by quarter. Otherwise, this was incredible as the base of a short-ribs plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Glendon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
best grits EVER. I'm not a grits fan at all, but my hubby sure is.. I made them as treat for him and I ended up devouring them! I plan on making again as a side dish. I scaled down the recipe to 6 people and the conversion was perfect.. this will become a household fave.. the fresh parm on top was the best, nice and cruchy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
I used broth opposed to milk, adding great flavor and reducing the cost. I also added garlic and paprika!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
Fantastic! I served it at a Ladies' dinner. My husband got a taste of them, and I had to cook them again the next night for him. I'll make a Southern man out of him yet. He has never really cared for grits, but loves this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Woodstock, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
This was just ok to me. I wouldn't make it to serve company unless I knew someone absolutely craved grits. I will keep it on hand for that reason, until I would find a tastier replacement.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
Excellent! I also bake it in a 9x13 pan and cut into squares to serve as an appetizer!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
Really liked this as a side dish for dinner. Didn't have the parmesean, but had an Italian blend for pizza, which I substituted on top. That crunchy cheese layer on top added a lot of flavor. I think this really needs to cool off quite a bit in order to taste the cheese flavor of the grits, so I recommend cooling for a good 15 minutes before serving. I will definitely be making this again and maybe adding chopped bacon and scallions next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Shrimp and Grits

See how to make some classic Southern comfort food.

Best Baked Fries

See how to make crispy, crunchy, healthier French fries.

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States