Cheesy Baked Grits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
This was my first attempt at making grits, and for the longest time I haven't known what they are -bear in mind I am from Canada's East Coast-. We didn't have fresh parmesan on hand, so I improvised and used grated asiago, and ended up cooking this in a casserole dish. Still tasty even with the alterations, thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2007
loved it! I also added 2 eggs like a previous reviewer mentioned. grits couldn't get any better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2006
Interesting and yummy. These weren't runny like grits I've had before (let me freely admit now that I've only rarely had grits; I have no idea how they're "supposed to" be). I can see why the previous reviewer added eggs and I think that'd be a good addition, but it turned out fine without. I served these with breakfast foods, but I think this would also be good for dinner with pork or chicken or even on the side with chili instead of corn bread. I also think this recipe would be good with some hot peppers or hot sauce added to spice it up. Thanks for the recipe, you've convinced this yankee to make grits again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cardamum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
Really liked this as a side dish for dinner. Didn't have the parmesean, but had an Italian blend for pizza, which I substituted on top. That crunchy cheese layer on top added a lot of flavor. I think this really needs to cool off quite a bit in order to taste the cheese flavor of the grits, so I recommend cooling for a good 15 minutes before serving. I will definitely be making this again and maybe adding chopped bacon and scallions next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
Excellent sidedish casserole! I added 2 eggs and a big dollop of reduced fat sour cream. It cooked in about 35 minutes. Even the kids liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANASTASIAJANE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2007
EXCELLENT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
This is delicious. I followed others advice and used an egg (haven't tried the recipe without it). I also use smoked cheddar. My husband and friends love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
These are awesome! I didn't make any changes and they turned out yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
YUM!! These are awesome! To reduce fat I omitted the first round of butter and only added about half of the second. I also wonder if it couldn't partially be made with chicken stock to reduce fat. Added 1 egg (I scaled recipe to 9) and mixed some of the parmesan into the cheddar as well. Serving with Grilled sausages and brocolli. Will update when I make with chicken stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dearborn, Michigan, USA
Living In: Northville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
Absolutely Delicious! They are officially a Thanksgiving tradition now... everyone loved them! And a plus for being SO easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melzee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Watsonville, California, USA
Living In: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Baked Fries

See how to make crispy, crunchy, healthier French fries.

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

How to Make Twice Baked Potatoes

Watch how to make doubly delicious twice-baked potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States