Cheesy Baked Grits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
I've made these multiple times now. My boys love them as an alternative side dish to mashed potatoes or rice. They don't like the cheese melted on top, so I incorporate it into the grits before baking. Even then, they are inclined to scrape the little bit of "crust" that develops anyway. The cheesy layer tastes good to me, but for whatever reason, they both have an aversion to it. This is a great and versatile recipe. You can try different cheeses and experiment with different spices or flavorings. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
YUM!! These are awesome! To reduce fat I omitted the first round of butter and only added about half of the second. I also wonder if it couldn't partially be made with chicken stock to reduce fat. Added 1 egg (I scaled recipe to 9) and mixed some of the parmesan into the cheddar as well. Serving with Grilled sausages and brocolli. Will update when I make with chicken stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dearborn, Michigan, USA
Living In: Northville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
Excellent sidedish casserole! I added 2 eggs and a big dollop of reduced fat sour cream. It cooked in about 35 minutes. Even the kids liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANASTASIAJANE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
These are awesome! I didn't make any changes and they turned out yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2007
loved it! I also added 2 eggs like a previous reviewer mentioned. grits couldn't get any better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
This was my first attempt at making grits, and for the longest time I haven't known what they are -bear in mind I am from Canada's East Coast-. We didn't have fresh parmesan on hand, so I improvised and used grated asiago, and ended up cooking this in a casserole dish. Still tasty even with the alterations, thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: May 7, 2007
EXCELLENT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2007
Very good. Though I did add additional cheeses and a little garlic powdered for an extra kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
I modified and made with polenta--was good and very rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
These were pretty good. I used two eggs as suggested (it definately needs them) but other than that, made the recipe as is. I will definately make these again but next time I think I will divide the parmesan, mixing half of it in with the cheddar cheese and using the other half to sprinkle on top. I thought the cheese on top was much too thick. Overall, a great dish! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Shrimp and Grits

See how to make some classic Southern comfort food.

Mom’s Favorite Baked Mac and Cheese

This creamy baked comfort food classic has two kinds of cheese.

Best Baked Fries

See how to make crispy, crunchy, healthier French fries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States