Cheesy Baked Grits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
I'm giving this 4 stars because I might make it again if I'm looking for something a little different, but this recipe wasn't a big hit. It did get eaten, but no real "yummy" comments. It seemed really dry to me, so next time I might add a little more milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
Absolutely Delicious! They are officially a Thanksgiving tradition now... everyone loved them! And a plus for being SO easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melzee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Watsonville, California, USA
Living In: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
This is delicious. I followed others advice and used an egg (haven't tried the recipe without it). I also use smoked cheddar. My husband and friends love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
I've made these multiple times now. My boys love them as an alternative side dish to mashed potatoes or rice. They don't like the cheese melted on top, so I incorporate it into the grits before baking. Even then, they are inclined to scrape the little bit of "crust" that develops anyway. The cheesy layer tastes good to me, but for whatever reason, they both have an aversion to it. This is a great and versatile recipe. You can try different cheeses and experiment with different spices or flavorings. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
YUM!! These are awesome! To reduce fat I omitted the first round of butter and only added about half of the second. I also wonder if it couldn't partially be made with chicken stock to reduce fat. Added 1 egg (I scaled recipe to 9) and mixed some of the parmesan into the cheddar as well. Serving with Grilled sausages and brocolli. Will update when I make with chicken stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dearborn, Michigan, USA
Living In: Northville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
Excellent sidedish casserole! I added 2 eggs and a big dollop of reduced fat sour cream. It cooked in about 35 minutes. Even the kids liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANASTASIAJANE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
These are awesome! I didn't make any changes and they turned out yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2007
loved it! I also added 2 eggs like a previous reviewer mentioned. grits couldn't get any better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
This was my first attempt at making grits, and for the longest time I haven't known what they are -bear in mind I am from Canada's East Coast-. We didn't have fresh parmesan on hand, so I improvised and used grated asiago, and ended up cooking this in a casserole dish. Still tasty even with the alterations, thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: May 7, 2007
EXCELLENT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Baked Fries

See how to make crispy, crunchy, healthier French fries.

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Mom’s Favorite Baked Mac and Cheese

This creamy baked comfort food classic has two kinds of cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States