Cheesy Baked Grits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
A BIG hit. I also used 2 eggs. I added more Cheddar and put in a little Swiss rather than Parmesan. And, I added a little bag of real bacon crumbles. It was REALLY good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
Great flavorful side dish! The entire family LOVED them!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
My husband and kids enjoyed this...I used it as a main dish and served with steamed broccoli. I also only used 4 tbsp of margarine (not butter) in the whole dish and didn't add any extra when the cheese was mixed in....wanted it make it a little lighter, plus I was worried that it would turn out greasy. I also didn't have time to bake it until it was firm....I had it in the oven for about 35 minutes, and it turned out fine. It's a economical dish when used as a main course, and not too terribly unhealthy if adjustments are made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hatboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
100 STARS! These are definitely the BEST grits I've ever had, and I credit that to cooking them in milk. I can't believe in all the years I've been making grits, I've never cooked them in milk. Dee-lish and makes such a difference!! I had to substitute American for the Cheddar (all I had on hand) and mixed the Parmesean in since others said it got crusty on top. This is now my only way to prepare grits, and I WILL have Cheddar on hand next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
This casserole was GREAT! I've been searching for a grits casserole that isn't runny and think I have found my "keeper." I doubled the recipe and followed exactly, only substituting asiago for the parmesan. It fed 17 college students with only a spoonful left. They all gave it rave reviews! I noticed several reviews recommended adding eggs - I didn't find this necessary. The grits were firm and had a perfect consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
I am from the south and have never developed a taste for grits. My Yankee husband, however, is enamored with southern cuisine. I made these just for him, and now this is one of my favorite recipes. I absoultely loved this. The flavors are rich and the texture is perfect. They went great with crabcakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
Next time I'd cut the butter down by quarter. Otherwise, this was incredible as the base of a short-ribs plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Glendon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
best grits EVER. I'm not a grits fan at all, but my hubby sure is.. I made them as treat for him and I ended up devouring them! I plan on making again as a side dish. I scaled down the recipe to 6 people and the conversion was perfect.. this will become a household fave.. the fresh parm on top was the best, nice and cruchy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
I used broth opposed to milk, adding great flavor and reducing the cost. I also added garlic and paprika!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
Fantastic! I served it at a Ladies' dinner. My husband got a taste of them, and I had to cook them again the next night for him. I'll make a Southern man out of him yet. He has never really cared for grits, but loves this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Woodstock, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Shrimp and Grits

See how to make some classic Southern comfort food.

Best Baked Fries

See how to make crispy, crunchy, healthier French fries.

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States