Cheesy Baked Grits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Good recipie! My mom makes baked grits every year for Christmas morning / brunch ( I think because she can bake them the nite before, and then just heat them up). This recipie is very close to hers. I def think it needs at least one egg. The Parm Cheese is a nice touch, but I prefer cheesier - so I added extra cheddar. My kids LOVE baked grits. Happy cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
I love grits & my kids hate them, so I am constantly trying new recipes to entice them towards my way of thinking. This is the closest I've come to getting them to "like" grits. Really good flavor, not too runny (one of their previous complaints) & the baking adds a nice crunchy golden brown topping. My only downside to the recipe is that the liquid amounts (for the grits I used) was off. I had to add about a 1/2 cup more liquid (I used chicken stock) to make them creamy enough so that the baking didn't dry them out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by McCrearyacres

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronson, Kansas, USA
Living In: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2011
The only change I made to this was to add some shredded parm right into the mixture. I never measure cheese, so I just added to taste. I didn't add any eggs.....if you cook it long enough, it isn't needed. I was scraping the pan and licking the spatula after putting in into the oven.......these are SO good! I'm serving with saute of shrimp, tri color peppers and onions. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
These were quick and easy. I baked them for an hour and the middle still wasn't set up. I took them out anyway because I like my grits a little soft and the top was very brown. I used non-fat milk and only 2 Tbs of butter. I used 1 cup of cheddar mixed in and about 3/4 cup parm/asiago mix on top. I also grated 1/2 an onion and 2 cloves of garlic, which I cooked until translucent before adding the milk, butter, etc. They turned out great and I didn't miss the extra butter. However, next time I will use sharp cheddar for a stronger cheese flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
These are trouble (in a good way). I liked that I could make them ahead, and that they were easy to assemble. They were a welcome alternative to mashed potatoes. Tonight I served them with braised oxtails. The only change I made was to omit that final 1/3 cup butter at the end....the first 1/2 cup already felt like pushing the envelope butter-wise (I did use whole milk, though).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by squawk93

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
So yummy! I make it regularly to go with pork chops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
These are a little more time-consuming than regular grits, but worth it. The cheeses, especially the parmesan were a nice addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
A BIG hit. I also used 2 eggs. I added more Cheddar and put in a little Swiss rather than Parmesan. And, I added a little bag of real bacon crumbles. It was REALLY good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
Great flavorful side dish! The entire family LOVED them!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
My husband and kids enjoyed this...I used it as a main dish and served with steamed broccoli. I also only used 4 tbsp of margarine (not butter) in the whole dish and didn't add any extra when the cheese was mixed in....wanted it make it a little lighter, plus I was worried that it would turn out greasy. I also didn't have time to bake it until it was firm....I had it in the oven for about 35 minutes, and it turned out fine. It's a economical dish when used as a main course, and not too terribly unhealthy if adjustments are made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hatboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Shrimp and Grits

See how to make some classic Southern comfort food.

Best Baked Fries

See how to make crispy, crunchy, healthier French fries.

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States