Cheesy Baked Grits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
This is a fantastic recipe. I made a couple of tweaks because I didn't have white pepper. I reduced the salt to 1/2 tsp. and added 1 tsp. Worcestershire sauce. I also added half the parmesan cheese to the mixture and used the other half to sprinkle on top. I also deleted that final 1/3 cup butter because the 1/2 cup I already had in there seemed like enough. It came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
Took this to a monthly potluck and it disappeared! Got several requests for copies of the recipe, too. I now keep a dish in my freezer to have on hand if needed. A keeper in my repetoire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
I will never again make grits using milk. Didn't like the taste of the grits. Prefer using water or chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
Really liked this alot and my husband raved. Served with pork chops and succotash. I didn't have alot of real butter in the house, so I used margarine for the 1/2 cup portion and real butter for the 1/3. Used shredded cheddar/jack cheese. Turned out great--really delicious, I recommend. Followed the rest of directions to a T and the dish is a keeper. (I used Paula Deen's grits.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
This was delicious! I added chopped green onion and red bell pepper and it turned into a great breakfast for a few days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Good recipie! My mom makes baked grits every year for Christmas morning / brunch ( I think because she can bake them the nite before, and then just heat them up). This recipie is very close to hers. I def think it needs at least one egg. The Parm Cheese is a nice touch, but I prefer cheesier - so I added extra cheddar. My kids LOVE baked grits. Happy cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
I love grits & my kids hate them, so I am constantly trying new recipes to entice them towards my way of thinking. This is the closest I've come to getting them to "like" grits. Really good flavor, not too runny (one of their previous complaints) & the baking adds a nice crunchy golden brown topping. My only downside to the recipe is that the liquid amounts (for the grits I used) was off. I had to add about a 1/2 cup more liquid (I used chicken stock) to make them creamy enough so that the baking didn't dry them out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by McCrearyacres

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronson, Kansas, USA
Living In: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2011
The only change I made to this was to add some shredded parm right into the mixture. I never measure cheese, so I just added to taste. I didn't add any eggs.....if you cook it long enough, it isn't needed. I was scraping the pan and licking the spatula after putting in into the oven.......these are SO good! I'm serving with saute of shrimp, tri color peppers and onions. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
These were quick and easy. I baked them for an hour and the middle still wasn't set up. I took them out anyway because I like my grits a little soft and the top was very brown. I used non-fat milk and only 2 Tbs of butter. I used 1 cup of cheddar mixed in and about 3/4 cup parm/asiago mix on top. I also grated 1/2 an onion and 2 cloves of garlic, which I cooked until translucent before adding the milk, butter, etc. They turned out great and I didn't miss the extra butter. However, next time I will use sharp cheddar for a stronger cheese flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
These are trouble (in a good way). I liked that I could make them ahead, and that they were easy to assemble. They were a welcome alternative to mashed potatoes. Tonight I served them with braised oxtails. The only change I made was to omit that final 1/3 cup butter at the end....the first 1/2 cup already felt like pushing the envelope butter-wise (I did use whole milk, though).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by squawk93

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Shrimp and Grits

See how to make some classic Southern comfort food.

Mom’s Favorite Baked Mac and Cheese

This creamy baked comfort food classic has two kinds of cheese.

Best Baked Fries

See how to make crispy, crunchy, healthier French fries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States