Cheesy Baked Grits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
We LOVED this. I had to adapt a bit -- was almost out of milk so cooked the grits in half chicken stock, half milk, rather than all milk. Reduced the amount of butter a bit, and went a little heavy on the cheese. Came out wonderfully, with a rich creamy flavor, and all that wonderful crispy Parmesan crust on the top -- decadent! Served it with chicken creole and the family went back for seconds ...and thirds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Jenkins McFadden

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
I just made this for supper and it is without a doubt the best baked cheesy grits I have ever had! Two thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
The only reason I didn't give this 5 stars was because it was a bit greasy. It was also a bit labor intensive with boiling then baking. Lots of butter which makes it taste great but too greasy. It got rave reviews from everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Pagel Boysen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
Made it exactly as shown. It was a hit with the whole family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
Excellent meal. It's been a staff favorite every year, including this year's cook who at the beginning of the year said, "there is nothing that could make me like grits." Gotta use sharp cheddar. Is even better with a lean mild sausage added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
Perfection - smooth, cheesy inside surrounded by a crunchy outside. These are what I want when I want cheese grits!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
I cut the servings to 8 and used two eggs as many recommended. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Delicious but WAY too much butter! I will cut in half next time. Don't see the need to add an egg (as suggested by other reviewers), I liked the consistency. Might try with 1/2 milk and 1/2 water next time to make even lighter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
This is a fantastic recipe. I made a couple of tweaks because I didn't have white pepper. I reduced the salt to 1/2 tsp. and added 1 tsp. Worcestershire sauce. I also added half the parmesan cheese to the mixture and used the other half to sprinkle on top. I also deleted that final 1/3 cup butter because the 1/2 cup I already had in there seemed like enough. It came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
Took this to a monthly potluck and it disappeared! Got several requests for copies of the recipe, too. I now keep a dish in my freezer to have on hand if needed. A keeper in my repetoire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Shrimp and Grits

See how to make some classic Southern comfort food.

Best Baked Fries

See how to make crispy, crunchy, healthier French fries.

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States