Cheesy Baked Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 15, 2008
I admit I've never made this as it's written, but I've changed it many times. Try throwing in chopped broccoli or different cheeses. Almost all amounts can be changed and it still works--more or less cheese, eggs, and any veggies you add. This has become one of our staples, especially as meat prices go up and we look for other proteins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
129 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
Brilliant recipe! May I suggest blending the cottage cheese to achieve a more consistent texture. Variation- I usually add 2c. chopped, mostly-cooked vegetable. Change up the cheese or the vegetable...ie Gruyere/spinach, Gouda/broccoli, Muenster/zucchini, Swiss/mushroom, or Jack/peppers. If you make it every Sunday, no one will tire of it. It reheats nicely for breakfast burritos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
Easy, quick, delicious! Nice brunch recipe because you don't have to make it the night before. I do suggest using less salt or omit it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
This was really good! I however did want something that was thrown together the night before, so I made it up to the point of adding the flour and stuck it in the fridge until morning. Then I added the flour, gave it a quick mix with the electric beater and popped it in the oven. 4 adults were very happy with it. I do have one thing to comment on...I haved the recipe and in doing so, the cooking time was also cut. It took less than 45 min to cook. Just a heads up in case anyone else cuts it back! Great egg bake and am so pleased to not to have it include bread in the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hurst, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
Everybody at the Easter buffet liked this a lot! Doubled it and it took at least another 45 minutes to cook. Ended up microwaving for 5 minutes to complete so we didn't hold up the meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cupertino, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
Excellent. I have made it a couple of times. I add vegetables (pre-cooked, whatever I have on hand), and bake it in muffin cups. Easy to grab and bring to work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
I made this recipe exactly as stated and we loved it! Nice and fluffy, lots of flavor. Perfect for a group. Reheats well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
Try using Riccotta cheese whole milk is best ( if you're not counting) instead of cottage cheese. even smoother and fluffier. Then throw in anything else. use cheese and topping that's appropriate for the other throw ins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Falls, New Jersey, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
The recipe came out beautifully! I basically followed the recipe except substituted butter-flavored cooking spray for the butter, but looking at the ingredients, felt it might be a bit bland. So, I took some suggestions from others and added some rosemary, onions and about half of a Serrano pepper. Also threw in some garlic powder (about 1 tsp), and about a tsp of baking powder to make it fluffier (which someone else had advised). Even with all those strong flavors, the final product had a very subtle co-mingling of the flavors. It definitely needs some type of topping -- we used the sour cream, salsa and sriracha.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Osowoofy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
I got this recipe from a friend a few years ago and have made some variation of this dozens of times since then. My recipe includes a teaspoon of baking powder, which makes it puff up nicely. As written this recipe is five star, but here are some other things you can do. If you want to speed up the baking process, put it in a preheated 400 degree oven for 15 minutes, then turn the heat down to 350 for another 20-25 minutes. I sometimes add spinach and mushrooms instead of diced chilies. I usually use just 8 oz. of reduced fat sharp cheddar to cut down on fat and calories, and I use eggbeaters instead of whole eggs. You can substitute olive oil for the butter, too. It keeps pretty well for a few days, but is best when it's fresh out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo Bice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reedley, California, USA
Living In: Indio, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Individual Baked Eggs

Use a muffin tin to make simple baked egg, bacon, and cheese "muffins."

Chef John's Baked Eggs

See how to make spicy baked eggs for breakfast, lunch, or dinner!

Baked Omelet Roll

What a great way to feed a hungry breakfast crowd!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States