Cheesy Baked Cauliflower Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2006
I've been making this recipe for years and my tip for this recipe is to add the parmesan to the mustard/mayo mixture before you spread it on the cauliflower. Less waste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
205 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2004
Some REALLY good advice... Steam for 10 minutes and check to see if it's done enough. I steamed for 30 minutes like the directions say, and it turned into mush. The next time I made this, I tried 10 minutes and it was perfect! I was out of Parmesan cheese so I covered with chedder cheese. When steamed properly, this is definately a very good veggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROOKIE COOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Stone Gap, Virginia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2006
This is a good recipe to use up things you have on hand. In my case it was a head of cauliflower! ;) I agree with other reviewers that 30 minutes is too long to steam the cauliflower. I steamed mine in an electric steamer for 15 minutes and let it drain well. The sauce is great but you will need to adjust it to your own personal tastes -- are you a mayonaise or mustard person. If you have a preference you might want to increase your favorite. In our case we used 2 T mayo to 1 T mustard. I also added a sprinkle of grated cheddar cheese to the top because I was afraid it would dry out too much. Next time I will make a lot more sauce. My family liked it and wanted to taste more of it on the cauliflower. I am going to also try to thicken the sauce some so it will stick to the cauliflower instead of have to be drizzled over the top. Good "different" recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2006
I used much less butter, and added crushed fresh garlic into the mayo mixture, added plenty of pepper. Steamed for only 10 minutes then put the mayo mixture on, then topped it with 1/4 cup fresh grated parmesan cheese and broiled it until the cheese was brown and bubbly. I have used American cheese slices as well. SO GOOD. If you add the cheese you dont really need the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northridge, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2006
This was really good! I made minor changes. I only steamed the cauliflower for 10-15 mins. I also increased both the mayo & mustard to 1 tablespoon and mixed the parmesan cheese with them. After spreading the mixture on the cauliflower and dotting with butter I placed it in my toaster oven for 30 minutes. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2006
OH WOW!!! This is really good! Both my husband and myself loved it. Hubby asked me to make again this way next time we have cauliflower. It is a beautiful change from cheesy sauce. I took others advice and only cooked veggie 10 mins and I doubled the mayo but not the mustard and the sauce was just right. I will make this again and agian.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Davis, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2007
not bad. steamed in microwave for 5:30 minutes. used no mustard at all, used no butter at all, and used 1 heaping tablespoon mayo and premixed with parmesan, paprika, pinch of garlic powder. added shredded cheese. next time: cut up cauliflower (easier to coat in mixture this way), use a thinner coat of sauce (water it down? maybe don't premix with parmesan?), do not add shredded cheese, bake at a higher temp for crispier results?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palo Alto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2007
This is the best cauliflower recipe ever! I used Apricot Mustard because I had it on hand and it was delicious. If I am in a hurry I microwave the cauliflower as florets then add the toppings and grill until brown. My family can eat a whole cauliflower for dinner now. Guests give me skeptical looks when I say I've made them Baked Cauliflower, but there is NEVER any left! Thanks so much, from Sydney Australia.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
I made a half recipe of this but I only halved the cauliflower, if that makes sense. To give it a little more flavor, I added onion/garlic powder and Frank's Hot Sauce. We all loved this, though I think the butter could be cut back.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2001
I would suggest steaming for only 20 minutes and not the entire 30 minutes as it was a little overdone and a little too soggy by the time it made it in the oven. Great taste! The more cheese the better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butter Roasted Cauliflower

See how to make tender, beautifully caramelized roasted cauliflower.

Garlic Mashed Cauliflower

Smooth, creamy, low-carb mashed cauliflower is a tasty alternative to potatoes.

Cheesy Creamed Spinach

See how to make simple homemade creamed spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States