Cheesy Bacon and Egg Brunch Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
I made this in the morning, but instead of bacon I used Jimmy Deans Hot Sausage. It turned out great and I'll make it again, but next time I'll use less nutmeg. It was a little too nutmegy for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: South Gate, California, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
I made this for a party of 16 for Christmas brunch. I used homemade french bread and turkey bacon, and scaled up by about 25%. I made the whole thing the night before, saving the egg/milk mix to dump in, in the morning. I cooked it at the same time as the ham, which called for 275 F, so I cooked it about an hour and a half, cranking it up to 350 F for about 20 minutes at the end. Main point: everyone loved it! I will definitely make it again, as it was easy to prepare ahead of time, and quite yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Super easy and very tasty! I would love to try it with crumbled cooked breakfast sausage too. I was surprised at how yummy the cottage cheese was in this dish. My only tweak would be more bacon and less onion. Seasoning was spot on for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Used a Dry Jack bread instead of italian and 15" skillet instead and ended up with a crispy toasted bread topping with cheesy gooey filling beneath. For us it covered all of the different wants for brunch with the family. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
This is awesome! I make a breakfast casserole every year on Christmas Eve night to eat on Christmas day. I have tried many recipes but this is definately one if the best. I added a little more egg/milk mixture before I put it in the oven so it wouldn't be too dry. My Italian bread cubes were pretty big. It was crispy on top, moist in the middle, had an awesome flavor and the cottage cheese middle was a nice addition. The only thing I might change is using a little less onion, especially if you have little kids. But I will definately make this next year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
Excellent! I used Hawaiian Bread and followed the directions just as written. I assembled it the night before and baked it off in the morning. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
Made this for an after Christmas brunch for 10 people and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
I LOVED This recipe! I hate reading how every one changes the recipes. Well, I didn't change anything, Except: I didn't have some things So, I tried other stuff in the place of it. Not much though! I kept the recipe the same but, I didn't have the loaf bread. (I used 2 gigantic homemade stale biscuits I had made)in place of the Italian bread and I didn't have bacon, so I used 1lb. of R.B. Rice hot sausage in the place of it. Oh my goodness was it good! I am a big cheese person, but hate cottage cheese, and it was sooooooo good in this casserole. My son stays here one day a week because of his job and he lives out of town and can't wait for him to have this for his breakfast at 7 a. m. This Tuesday! I may have to make an extra casserole just to send home to the family! I think it would make a good supper food! (maybe a new tradition)MMMMM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
Just served this for brunch. Everyone loved it. I added about a teaspoon of crushed red pepper, 1 extra egg & extra 1/2 cup milk. Next time I might add more bacon or try sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
This recipe is excellent. I have made it several times now. It keeps well, and refreezes in a snap! I just cut in portions, put it in zip top freezer bags and throw it in the freezer. I thaw and rewarm in the microwave. I make it just as the recipe describes. My son requested it for supper this week!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Egg and Sausage Casserole

A cheesy egg casserole with a simple crescent roll crust.

Brunch Egg Bake

See how to make a simple breakfast casserole with eggs, ham, cheese, and veggies.

Egg Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy breakfast casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States