Cheesy Amish Breakfast Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
Made this for Christmas brunch two years in a row. It is so easy since I assembled the night before and let it sit in fridge overnight. After the first time I decided to use turkey sausage and just a little bacon for flavor. It was less greasy and still delicious. I found I needed to cook it longer than suggested and then allowed the top and edges to get a little crispy since the inside stays soft and can be runny if not cooked fully. Everyone went back for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
I was put in charge of the teacher Christmas appreciation breakfast which I had never done before and I have tons of amish relatives so when I saw the word "amish" in the name and then saw the high reviews, I definitly wanted to make it for the breakfast. I made one with turkey bacon (what I had on hand) and one with hillshire farms cheese smokies.(fyi: the bacon one was empty way before the sausage one was) The only thing I did different was brown the hashbrowns and lay them on the bottom so they had a crunch to them. The casseroles were a hit! The principle said she wanted to hire me as her personal chef and that she could eat this casserole all day. It was SO easy. I highly recommend this breakfast casserole. PLUS, it is gluten free. I then made it a few weeks later for Christmas morning. But I put it together the night before (without browning the hashbrowns) and in the morning put it in the baking dish. Turned out wonderful again. You can do it either way and its easy and is super wonderful. Oh yeah, I guess I did not put in the whole sweet onion. I only put in half because the onion was huge...your preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
Loved it just a as it was written! Wil be making this again & again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
Delish and hearty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
I made this for breakfast yesterday (Christmas) morning. Was going to make it the night before and just bake it on Christmas, but then I thought sitting all night might mess with the dynamic of the recipe since it calls for frozen potatoes. So, the night before, I grated my cheese, chopped my onion and fried the onion and bacon. Then all I had to do was assemble and bake on Christmas and wasn't stuck in the kitchen all morning. It was very good, but did need to bake an extra 15-20 minutes to allow the eggs to set. Also, it doesn't call for salt and I thought that may because of the cheese and bacon both having lots of salt to lend, but with so many potatoes, it does need at least 1tsp of salt added. You could also add mushrooms or peppers or sausage, etc. before baking for extra flavor. It was slightly bland and monotone in flavor, but still tasty. My daughter added ketchup to hers, on her plate. My husband said it had a lot of potatoes and could use more flavor (add ins). My son loved it the way it was! I will make this again. Very handy for breakfast get together or holiday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Very good! Used sausage instead and just added some garlic and a few spices. Served with salsa, family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
We make this often all year long and love it! I often have to make two dishes, one with turkey sausage and one with bacon, for my school staff of 40. This Christmas we used Pepper Jack cheese instead of the Swiss cheese. Love the mild zippiness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerri Hescock York

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
I like to add quartered cherry tomatoes and frozen broccoli, for added flavor and color. Minced garlic adds to this too. You can add or take away ingredients to suit your family's tastes and this is still wonderful. I usually go with 12 eggs. Thanks for posting. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
this was a very good casserole and the flavor is great! I added just a dash of garlic powder, salt and pepper, personal preference. It would have been good without it as written. I'm not a swiss cheese fan but it's really good in here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Muncie, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
O.K. had my doubts, but served this, this morning to 15 Methodist gentlemen, and when I went to clean up after their meeting, couldn't find a scrap of leftovers! I would call that a 5 star recipe! By the way, other than doubling the ingredients, I used it just as written. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookiegirl40

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Stanwood, Washington, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesy Amish Breakfast Casserole

See how to make a cheesy breakfast casserole with bacon and hash browns.

Easter Breakfast Casserole

This eggy Easter treat boasts bacon, cheese, hash browns, and veggies.

Potato, Sausage, & Egg Breakfast Casserole

A cheesy breakfast casserole with hash browns, sausage, and egg.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States