Cheesy Amish Breakfast Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
I made this for a work breakfast. I'll admit I was a little leery with the addition of cottage cheese, but decided to make it as we have several people with gluten allergies and this was one of the few breakfast casserole recipes without bread/flour. I cooked the bacon the night before and mixed everything together in the morning. I had also decided not to add the onions (there were quite a few people I knew didn't like onions). I mistakenly bought cottage cheese with chives so decided to add it anyways and it was a nice complement without a strong onion flavor. Every one enjoyed it and even asked for the recipe. It was so simple to make. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
I made this last night for a group of 5 adults and 1 toddler, and everyone loved it! Even with a couple of people having seconds (and thirds!) there was still some leftover. Definitely best for a big crowd or a potluck. I didn't change much except I used turkey bacon, and I didn't have any Swiss so I just used all cheddar. It was so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina B.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
Incredible! I'm not usually a big fan of Swiss cheese but as another reviewer mentioned, it is quite good in this. I followed the recipe exactly other than tossing in two diced white mushrooms I had on hand and needed to use up. Next time I may add in maybe half a pound of ham or Canadian bacon to boost up it's meatiness some since my family is very carnivorous. Despite that, this recipe truly deserves five stars as is. I have a feeling this will become a regular part in our house's breakfast rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
I made this as directions stated with the exception of sausage instead of bacon. However, it looks very dense. I'm afraid I've used to many hash browns (8 oz. per cup x 4 c. used 30 oz. bag of hash browns). I'm not baking until morning. Any suggestions? It's for a bridal shower and I hope I haven't screwed up... :-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lspowell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clinton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
Tasty and easy to make ahead. I used gruyere instead of Swiss since I had it on hand. I didn't start with a big enough bowl so I spread the potatoes in the bottom of the pan, mixed everything else and poured on top. Refrigerated overnight and baked in the morning on convect setting so it was still done in about 45 min. Big hit at work for a team breakfast. I will be making again to serve at home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
Awesome and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
I was a bit skeptical to try this recipe because of the cottage cheese. But I used it anyway, and like other reviewers noted, you couldn't taste it. I also used the diced potatoes with onion and green pepper and used 12 eggs. I received several compliments. However, next time I'll add salt and pepper and use sharp cheddar and maybe mozzarella cheeses instead. It needed just a little more flavor for my taste. It was easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
This is one of our favorite make ahead breakfast casseroles. I'm generally too lazy to deal w/bacon, so I typically use diced ham as the protein in it's stead. I also add diced bell peppers to add some color and veg. Great hearty easy breakfast when we have overnight guests. THANKS for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
I have had this "as is", and I have made it with some variation. I'm giving this a 5 star because of its versatility. I just made this for a large group so made two casseroles. This is what I added: cooked two packs of bacon (cut up) and one "log" of breakfast sausage, cooked until brown, drained, and divided that between the two dishes. With the remaining fat in the pan, I sauteed onions, a red and a green pepper (diced) and a pack of mushrooms (sliced). It was received with rave reviews...I will definitely make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by adam newcomer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
This is the BEST breakfast casserole I've ever eaten! I was a little nervous about the cottage and swiss cheeses in the recipe because my kids do not like either one, so I just didn't tell anyone it was in there and no one ever knew. My kids loved it! It's very filling too. Mine didn't look like the picture either. The picture looks stirred. I made this in a 9x11 pan and it came out browned on top. Be sure to let it sit for at least the recommended 10 minutes before you cut it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Cheesy Amish Breakfast Casserole

See how to make a cheesy breakfast casserole with bacon and hash browns.

Easter Breakfast Casserole

This eggy Easter treat boasts bacon, cheese, hash browns, and veggies.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States