Cheesy Amish Breakfast Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2015
I have made this several times as a treat for my high school students - and they all LOVE it! I usually just use real bacon pieces or a pound of cooked sausage. I've never had it fail. Since I usually bake it early in the morning, I mix everything the night before and put it in a large Ziplock bag. In the morning, I cut off a large corner of the bag and squeeze it into the pan. No mess and the bags take up less space in the fridge and are easier to transport to bake at school.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
This was great! It was a hit with the group of friends I invited over for brunch. I used an Italian blend cheese instead of Swiss (I'm not a Swiss fan), and I used 1-1/2 C of Mexican blend cheese since it's what I had on hand. The casserole turned out perfectly; this recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elaine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Adrian, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cowsmanne
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
easy & delicious! I wondered about no seasoning, but honestly it didn't need anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
Made it for an Easter sunrise service breakfast at our church today. Everybody thought it was the bomb! Will definitely make this bad boy again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mnburch

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
When I mixed it all together, it seemed a bit dry so I added a half cup of half and half. It turned out FABULOUS. This recipe will be a keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
Yummy. It was an easy recipe. I made it with bacon, but I think it would be good with ham or sausage. My guests commented on how delicious it was. Also, it was good reheated the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marilyn Kleifgen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2015
My first attempt at recipes is to fix them as the poster posted them. This was AWESOME! My family went crazy over it! I wouldn't change a thing, but place on the table salt, pepper and my favorite hot sauces for those that want to flavor to their liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
Very good - enjoyed by whole family at the holidays
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
Made this for Christmas brunch two years in a row. It is so easy since I assembled the night before and let it sit in fridge overnight. After the first time I decided to use turkey sausage and just a little bacon for flavor. It was less greasy and still delicious. I found I needed to cook it longer than suggested and then allowed the top and edges to get a little crispy since the inside stays soft and can be runny if not cooked fully. Everyone went back for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
I was put in charge of the teacher Christmas appreciation breakfast which I had never done before and I have tons of amish relatives so when I saw the word "amish" in the name and then saw the high reviews, I definitly wanted to make it for the breakfast. I made one with turkey bacon (what I had on hand) and one with hillshire farms cheese smokies.(fyi: the bacon one was empty way before the sausage one was) The only thing I did different was brown the hashbrowns and lay them on the bottom so they had a crunch to them. The casseroles were a hit! The principle said she wanted to hire me as her personal chef and that she could eat this casserole all day. It was SO easy. I highly recommend this breakfast casserole. PLUS, it is gluten free. I then made it a few weeks later for Christmas morning. But I put it together the night before (without browning the hashbrowns) and in the morning put it in the baking dish. Turned out wonderful again. You can do it either way and its easy and is super wonderful. Oh yeah, I guess I did not put in the whole sweet onion. I only put in half because the onion was huge...your preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Cheesy Amish Breakfast Casserole

See how to make a cheesy breakfast casserole with bacon and hash browns.

Easter Breakfast Casserole

This eggy Easter treat boasts bacon, cheese, hash browns, and veggies.

Potato, Sausage, & Egg Breakfast Casserole

A cheesy breakfast casserole with hash browns, sausage, and egg.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States